Training

This morning’s training program

8 100 yard long sled drags w/ 180 pounds on the sled

hammering a tire w/ a 12 pound sledge hammer, 15 minutes no rest

3 sets of 8 reps on the 220 pounds atlas stone

Some bicep and tricpe work. I have torn my biceps 3 times. I now do bicep work every chance. I am a triceps presser and try to do tri work twice a day. Sometimes more. Mostly that’s a few lite sets to work the soreness out

all of this was done out doors. the grass was slick, it was a little over 80 with high humidity so the hammer and stone was slick to. I think its a real mistake to train indoors to much. If nothing else it makes you soft mentally.

I probably won’t train again today. I am going to mow, prune and edge my 4+ acres then jump on my bike and get my ass to the beach. I’ll pretty much only do kettlebell workouts while I’m there. That and walk. Walking does wonders for my back and other aches and pains

6 thoughts on “Training

  1. theasdgamer

    Hey Ton!

    hammering a tire w/ a 12 pound sledge hammer

    I used to do that all day at 21–splitting rails and building fences. Good workout. Now I just walk around a lake for a couple of hours and lift a few piddly weights. And dance for a few hours a day. And do 120 situps at a time. Not quite ready for the old folks home, I guess. When you get older, you really have to watch out for injuries since they take a lot longer to heal than when you were young.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      Good to see you here Gammer
      Hammering the tire is excellent rehab for a number of my injuries. Something to do with the dynamics of the rubber vs…. anything like wood. Splitting wood the old-school way would wreck my elbows. Thankfully log splitters are relatively cheap.

      Reply
  2. Sumo

    +1 for hitting a tire with….well, anything. I’ve used an old tire for training drills with escrima sticks, staffs, and bokken (wooden swords). Basically any sort of impact weapon.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      Hey Sumo, how’s life in the frozen north?

      Just wondering what kind of training effects you see from your tire work? The only things I do that doesn’t work multiple areas of general physical preparedness at one time is squats and deadlifts. My tire hammering greatly improves my lower arm strength ( from fighting the rebound of the impact on rubber I think), keeps my grip strong, my hands toughened up, helps maintain anaerobic conditioning, works on speed, hand eye coordination ( delivering precise strikes and I often let the hammer go after impact, letting it flip before I catch it and slam it down again) and helps rehab my shoulders. Do you see the same kin of carry over?

      Reply
      1. Sumo

        I do. Or did, at least. Haven’t actually done it for a while (suffered a shoulder injury back in Oct. 2012), but I noticed increased strength in the wrists, the impact shock was greatly lessened over time. My hand/eye coordination has always been pretty good (one of my hobbies is juggling) so I can’t make any observations on that score. I never let any of the impact items go (intentionally), but that sounds like a pretty nifty trick, especially with a bigass hammer.

      2. sfcton Post author

        Juggler? Nice. Never could get the hang of that.

        It really is just a trick. A little wrist flick right at impact sends the hammer in a predictable arc, then you have almost three feet of hammer handle to grab, the closer to the head the easier to control….. bad sex puns not intended.

Leave a Reply

