how to spend a rainy Saturday

How to spend a Saturday

Ride 128 miles, little under half of that in the rain. Smile the whole damn time because nothing much is finer then being on a bike in the rural South. Even when it rains.

Then

prep the beef ribs. the apple pie is for drinking while you work

prep the beef ribs. the apple pie is for drinking while you work

put the beef ribs on the smoker

put the beef ribs on the smoker

 

make the sauce

make the sauce, that’s old sauce in the tupperware. I added the old batch to the new. Sort of like making shine.

Drink apple pie, watch John Wayne movies and tend the smoker for the next 6-7 hours

36 thoughts on “how to spend a rainy Saturday

  1. Sumo

    What the hell, man? No sugar? No vinegar? No BUTTER!? I thought you Carolina folks knew how to make BBQ sauce? 😀

    I’m just messing with you, bro. I love me some beef ribs. Never thought of using Old Bay on anything other than fish.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      LOL….. butter? WTF? lol look again brother, there is two pounds of brown sugar for the sauce. It’s in a one gallon mason jar. I don’t use high dollar food storage containers very often. Vinger is a low land recipe and I am from the hills so that means sweeter bbq sauces, no vinger and hickory wood for the smoker.

      Like BV said, Old Bay makes everything better…. expect ice cream. We moved to Maryland, down near the baY my freshman year of high school. That’s where I picked up the Old Bay trick. Normally I would pack the ribs in brown sugar as well but I wanted more cayenne pepper on this batch.

      Reply
      1. Sumo

        Indeed, butter. Adds fat & richness to the sauce. I was about 4 beers in when I first read this one, so I apologize for missing the sugar. I do a BBQ sauce with mostly the same ingredients you have there, minus the Old Bay, tomato sauce, onion, and garlic. Mine also has white sugar in addition to the brown, chipotle powder, butter, soy sauce, and liquid smoke. I don’t have a smoker, so I need to add that smokiness to the sauce.

      2. sfcton Post author

        How much butter? Man I have to try that

        I have also used molasses. Lot of folks seem to like that. If you can, pick up a cheap electric smoker Sumo. Easy to use and very effective. I a midsize gas smoker and a big wooden one to do hogs. The small electric one beats the snot out of the gas one for ease of use and no difference in outcome best I can tell.

        4 beers? So it was 6am your time?

      3. Sumo

        Depends on the quantity of sauce.. I make about a 3 1/2 cup batch at one time, and I throw 2 tablespoons of butter in.

        The time stamp on your blog is weird, man. It’s noon for me right now.

      4. sfcton Post author

        Thanks Sumo. I’ll start there and add or take away as needed

        At which stage do you add the butter? Like should I brown the garlic and onion in the butter vs oil?

      5. Sumo

        No, you still use the oil for the veggies. Once you get everything in the pot and simmering nicely, chop up the butter (use cold butter, not room temp) and stir it into the sauce until it melts. Technically, that’s a riff on a culinary technique called monte au beurre; it’s gives sauces a nice, glossy sheen and an enriched “mouth feel”.

        Stop laughing. I’m an apprentice chef.

      6. sfcton Post author

        LOL @ the joke…. Laugh? Dude that’s fucking cool. I would love to spend the time and really learn how to cook. I took a 6 week class once but all it was, was watching the dude cook and asking questions so I bailed after the 1st class.

        When the zombie comes I’ll have room for a real cook

    2. Sumo

      Sounds like a solid plan. I’m totally comfortable with joining forces with a badass mofo who owns a shitload of guns and knows how to use them.

      Reply
      1. sfcton Post author

        Don’t discount your own bad ass cred…. plus I need to do a post on why I am not a bad ass. I buy fresh cut flowers for my house weekly for crying out loud.

        I need to up th butter BUT I noticed an improvement in taste. Thanks again

      2. Sumo

        To paraphrase BV, butter makes everything better. Glad you enjoyed it.

        The point I was trying to be clever/funny about is that I don’t own a gun. I could probably manage some zombie stealth kills though.

        What’s wrong with flowers? If you want fresh flowers in YOUR house, what difference does it make? Having a bouquet of lilies or whatever does absolutely nothing to diminish your level of badassiness. Besides, flowers are pretty, smell nice, and I like to look at them.

        Kind of like women, actually.

  2. BuenaVista

    Old Bay, like bacon fat, makes most everything better.

    I recommend In Harm’s Way, if you haven’t seen it yet. There’s an instructive dynamic between Wayne, his lost son (his wife divorced him and alienated his son, because he wouldn’t leave the Navy), and some organizational climbers. As well in the interactions of Wayne and Patricia Neal, who plays a wizened nurse. Many, many red pill truths. In this respect the red pill is not innovative: it merely references established codes of behavior that have been replaced in the past 40-50 years.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      I’ll check that out BV. I ended up watching a show called The Good Guys on Netflix. Just three episodes into it, but also some pretty good red pill wisdom in it.

      In Eldorado, a young man tells John Wayne he isn’t much into.girls because all.they do is make a fella angry. And John Wayne agreed. Lot of red pill nuggets in them older movies.

      Thanks for the link and the one about Gable. Got to admit to a fair amount of left over childhood hero worship regarding the man. And the jaymans blog is very interesting. I know its terribly old fashion but I am a nature over nurture guy and a big believer that biology drives culture. Not to mention how important I think the nature of our various White ethnic groups are.. that’s the real racial clash that drives american politics. I read hbdchick on occasions as well.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Early August Mini-Linkfest | Patriactionary

  4. feeriker

    Damn, Ton – “apple pie” AND ribs! And ya didn’t invite your pal feeriker?! I’ll forgive ya this time :)~

    My barber makes his own version of “pie”, a sample of which (all sweet 140 proof of it) I partook of last Saturday while getting trimmed. I’m making a “donation” next time I see him and grab a full jar. Just the thing to add life to a Labor Day BBQ!

    Reply
  5. BuenaVista

    Sumo, what’s the science behind folding butter into a sauce cold, versus room temp?

    While I’ve cooked some professionally, it was more of the country restaurant/steakhouse variety. At home I’m now a mix of Betty Crocker/Jacques Pepin. (Hearty traditional fare, no Le Benardin pretensions.) I’ve not seen in either a discussion of this butter method, though I suppose it receives 5 pp in Julia Child or Pellaprat. Any hints appreciated.

    Reply
    1. Sumo

      Hey BV,

      My food science is a little weak, but IIRC, once butter gets to room temp, it’s already starting to separate into milk solids and butterfat, so if you were to introduce it into a warm sauce, it would accelerate the separation, and you would end up with a pool of fat on the surface of the sauce. Using cold butter enables it to incorporate into the sauce, and providing the aforementioned “mouth-feel”, instead of a mouthful of grease.

      Reply
      1. Sumo

        I have no idea what you mean by “fix vitals”, but you’re welcome. My food knowledge is your food knowledge.

      2. sfcton Post author

        LOL should read vittels

        I made venison nachos and fajitas for diner tonight. Basically I am eating my way through the best parts of my freezers

  6. redpillgirlnotes

    And I am counting three and 1/3 quarts of apple pie here! (I imagine that fourth was full when the cooking began, no?) Scfton! I could say all sorts of things but how about this, is shipping available? Sign me up! Lol.

    Reply
  7. Liz

    Have you ever fashioned a distillery when over in the Muslim countries, Sfcton?
    Or do you have to abstain?
    (I know a few fobbits that made them, but I don’t know about off-post)

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      LOL I don’t do abstinence darling, but I will engage in moderation when needs be.

      I never had the time for any such thing but I wonder how folks would get away with it. Mostly because of what a distinctive smell fermentation creates.

      My last trip down range I averaged 2k a month selling booze but always sold to contractors vs military. My little brother would send me boxes of cheap booze in plastic pint bottles which cost’5-6 bucks and sold for $30 a pint. It paid for my RoadKing. And I would use as barter for steaks and the like. Men volunteered for my platoon for a host reasons. Reckon eating well down range played a part.

      Booze is legal in Iraq. Or was when we…. ah liberated the place. We also liberated a fair amount of booze.

      Reply
      1. Liz

        Thanks for the response, Sfcton. That’s interesting!
        I have no idea how they got away with it. Necessity=invention, I suppose, for enterprising folk. 🙂

Leave a Reply

