City boys don’t measure up

Most city dudes come across as feeble and effeminate. When I walk around a city I think everyone is a fag or I want to shoot them before they try and take my wallet. I see soft men, with soft lives, soft jobs, and soft eyes. Or thug wanna bes. Of course there are hard-asses in the city, for some reason damn near every SEAL I have worked with has been a city kid but by and large its stink eye and words, like little dogs yapping.
When you grow up in the country, you grow up with hard, ball busting manual labor. There isn’t any such concept of childhood being a special time just to be a kid. You do goof off, but it’s after getting the eggs, feeding the chickens, cleaning the dog pens, feeding the dogs and whatever else free labor your old man can get out of you. As your body matures the demanding nature of the work and danger level increases. Farming is a no shit life with lots of chances to hurt get hurt. Badly. Same applies with most rural work. You might be 8 but you’re a working. And when you do goof off, it’s without adult supervision and mostly you are mimicking the behavior of older boys and men. I had an apple orchard and the side of a mountain to play on and there was no way for my parents or what passed as neighbors to keep an eye on me. I think this does three things to farm kids; accustom you to the difficulty realities of life; matures your body and mind much earlier and develops a sense of independence and self sufficiency, all of which puts you on the road to manhood much earlier than city living with cross walks and prying eyes.

 

City folk tend to be arrogant. They think we need them. We don’t. Fact is we’d be better off without them. Sure we might not ever taste some fancy coffee or weird foreign food, but we have what we need and we generally don’t see the value in what they produce. Do we really tv shows? We have our on engineers, and doctors, guys who can build or fix anything and we know how to create real wealth not ones and zeros in some computer somewhere. If city folks couldn’t vote, the usa would be fundamentally better off in every regard in about 12 years. We’d use our natural and human resources vs trying to make money selling shit no one needs on credit. There is very little in this world more unethical then usury.

 

City folk tend to be arrogant. They think if you work hard, plan correctly and do everything right, that things will work out perfectly. Farmers know better. They know they can do everything right and still fail. Too much rain, not enough rain, the right amount of rain at the wrong time and your crops will suffer. You know you can put that .308 through both lungs and still lose the dear. I’ve not yet meet the city boy who understands this.

 

City folks tend to be arrogant. They think they are bigger then the world and why not? When you go from your climate controlled house to your climate controlled office and back. Country boys know better. They know a horse can kill you if he wants, but luck you he doesn’t want. He knows that bull is bigger and stronger. He knows a PTO will take his hand off and he knows that the cops and firemen come too late, when shit gets real all you have is yourself and your kin.
City kids don’t face the trials farm kids do. I started doing things that would make most city parents shit kittens before I was 8. We were gutting fish and playing in the river before most city kids get to use steak knives and swim without supervision. When we cut ourselves it was gasoline and super glue. Most of us started to help killing chickens around 8, drove trucks and tractors way before 16. I was 8 when I was allowed to go hunting with my father and uncles.

 

I’ve never heard a rural kid say violence is always wrong or really any other hippy bullshit. We’re to practical of a people. What does the city have to offer? Ballet? Art museums? When does that feed a nation or keep a people free, proud and strong?

 

When I talk about the things I did growing up, daily chores like dealing with kennels full of hunting dogs, feeding etc rabbits and chickens, killing and cleaning rabbits and chickens, the ball busting stuff like helping the grown men pull in tobacco and roof houses etc, few city boys have anything similar to match. Few have shot guns, let alone started hunting, fishing and shooting before they hit elementary school. I started young on a lot of theses, my father’s attempt to rein me in, but not too much younger then the boys I grew up with.

 

Between the 8th and 9th grade, we moved from the hills to Southern Maryland were my old man bought 300 acres to grow tobacco. I loved living there when I was a kid. The river, the bay, the swamps, new local history to learn, big fat deer, no way to get lost in the woods, rockfish and crabbing but it was also my 1st introduction to what I thought of as city people. They were suburbanites but any place with a movie theater, Sears and three grocery stores was city living. The farm kids were a lot like the kids from home, the same concept of chores, risk and hard work, but the suburban kids and men were weak. They were afraid of my father, smart that, but the men I grew up with would have never let it shown. They had no idea how they devalued themselves. Still don’t. The favorite past time for the Black kids was picking on the suburban White kids. They didn’t mess with the farm kids, in part because we wouldn’t get in trouble for fighting once we got home.
It’s also when I found out people will let someone insult their mom/ family etc and not fight. More than that they’d laugh about it. How can you respect a man who will tolerate that kind of bullshit? The Suburban and Black kids thought it was funny. Country boys fought. The football team was mostly farm kids and I can only think of three guys who started and lived in a neighborhood. There were no suburban kids on the wrestling team and the guy who coached us still has the best win record for the state.

 

All this played out when I joined the Ranger’s too. Farm kids, country boys, a double handful of suburban kids. I recall one kid from Detroit and one from DC.

 

My kids grew up around the military. I could see the difference once again. City folks raised their kids to be pussies. My daughter dated a guy who played in the NHL. She lost it for him because he never hunted, didn’t know how to use a gun etc. People from more urban settings would shit kittens about the things I’d let my son do, and they were all spun up at the things I wouldn’t let my daughter do. Someone tried to bitch me out when my son mowed the lawn. Said it was too dangerous, he was too young… she didn’t much cotton to my response and said she’d tell her husband on me. Reckon he decided to keep his mouth shut about it if she did. Every summer I could, I’d send my kids back to the hills. Pert sure a major reason my daughter is not a feminist is her experience with her mountain kin. Same for my son.

 

Now often farm boys seem goofy and out of place to city kids. Folks in the city walk around with bad attitudes hoping to keep the scary at bay. Farm kids have no such need. They know they can deal with the scary, even if he’s never been in a brawl. He doesn’t think this through; he knows it like he breathes. He has a lifetime of overcoming dangerous and physically demanding challenges, and his people look down on those who put on airs.

 

I work around a lot of city people now. The men are soft and basically useless for anything important unless they are the blue collar variety. Soft, weak, useless are the only words that come to mind, which is why they try to redefine masculinity based on transitory things like money, jobs, education, trinkets…. all shit women can do. They’ll never succeed in redefining men. Masculinity is power, personal power and the will to use it. If you are healthy and have to rely on the good behavior of others, or other men doing violence on your behalf, you are not much of a man. You’re the kind of man and the kind of people who will be replaced by a more robust group of men.

 

Demographic replacement of rural and lower class White folk is something the UMC supports. Their politics and support for leftism is proof. The only real threat to their position at the top of the heap is rural and lower class White men, same with their progressive political agenda. So they support replacing us through immigration, keeping us poor by making sure we no longer have an economy based on natural resources and manufacturing while lifting up foreign people with things like affirmative action and unlimited third world immigration. This way they can keep their feelings of superiority and stay on topic of the economic food chain, but still the day will come when more robust men will topple them. This is true as true gets if you read history, but the UMC always thinks they are smart enough to do things right this time. Which is another common train of thought among city folks.

 

No the city has little good to offer for a people and is the death of the masculine soul. City boys don’t like to hear this. They think they are perfectly masculine and that their desk job is useful work which further demonstrates their delusions

25 thoughts on “City boys don’t measure up

  1. Sumo

    I’m a city boy, although my personal history isn’t exactly typical of the average city-dweller. My father was in the air force, so from birth until the age of 13 I lived on an air force base. In addition to having a father who was, for some reason, big on routine and discipline, he grew up on a farm, so he had no issue with putting my sister and I to work around the house. Being military brats, everyone’s 2nd favorite playtime activity was running around the woods playing “guns” with water pistols (1st favorite was hockey – this is Canada). And by water pistols, I mean water guns – when I was a kid, that shit was fairly realistic looking. I had one that looked like an Uzi, one that looked like a Tec 9, and one that looked like an M16. Pretty sure some hippy liberal bitch teacher confiscated them when we moved off the base and into the city.

    Mom was a little easier on us, but she also grew up on a farm, so “easier” is a relative term, I guess. She dragged my ass off to her parent’s farm for most of every summer until I was 11, where my cousins and I ran around the woods (New Brunswick, shares a border with Maine or Vermont, I believe) when my grandfather didn’t have work for us. I was never there for hunting season, but we did a fair bit of fishing and subsequently, cleaning of the fish on the rare occasion that we caught anything. My grandfather gave me my first knife when I was 6, and taught me how to use it (as a tool – I learned the “other” way to use it later).

    I said “most” of every summer – the rest of the the summers were spent on my father’s parents’ farm in southern Alberta. There wasn’t any livestock there, just vegetables, but I would put crawling out of bed at 4 in the morning to move irrigation pipes around on a par with feeding pigs and milking cows. Also picking bushels of corn, cucumbers, cabbage, carrots, and a bunch of other veggies that don’t start with the letter “c”.

    I also fought. A lot. Growing up on the base as a half Japanese kid, I was the only spot of color in the whole damn place. The other kids were either pretty cool about it, or pretty cruel about it. Wasn’t much middle ground. Got my ass kicked a lot, but every time I got knocked down, I got back up and kept swinging. With the kids on the base, *and* my cousins in New Brunswick. Wasn’t much good at it until we moved into the city and I started learning martial arts, but I think losing as much as I did was better for me, as I learned how to not quit when shit got tough.

    Fought with one of the cousins on dad’s side of the family, too. Not because of any racial issues (he’s a halfie like me), but because he was an arrogant jackass from the day he was born. Now he’s a Lt. Col in the Canadian Forces. Go figure.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      Sumo, I think you and men like you occupy a very interesting place in the world and the SMP with a solid foot in two opposing worlds. Chicks eat that kind of ying and yang stuff up.

      I have a guy much like that on my crew. His father is a CFO for a fortune 40 company who went from a farm in the mid-west to an Ivy League master’s degree in business something or another. So this guy on my crew (a former SEAL) made lots of trips to his grandparents, spent summers working their farm, hunting trips with his father in the fall, fishing in the spring all the while living in a major city, world renowned American city actually, going to private schools that cost more then most folks yearly salary and learning how to race sail boats.. He is universally well liked, well rounded etc. and pussy magnet.

      On the other side of the equation, women who have similar back grounds are a niche market I exploit and are common in Raleigh and Charlotte.

      I’d rather run crops then livestock any day.

      Reply
  2. Liz

    Well, my parents were both raised on farms, but I myself am a candyass.

    I remember vacationing in Austria when we lived in Europe and I e mailed my dad and told him I thought that owning a farm and living in Austria would be like heaven (it really is an amazingly beautiful place). He told me he’d recommend waking up at five and milking a few cows before buying that farm.

    Reply
    1. Liz

      Just to add, my mom left the farm and went to work in Milan when she was 14, and never looked back. My dad stayed until he went into the military. He learned a lot and was a lot more resilient in basic training (which was a lot tougher then than now). He actually saw his uncle break his neck and die in front of him in an accident…there were a lot of accidents on the farm (as you mentioned).
      He was tough, but fair and the most honest person I’ve ever known. A good men, RIP.

      May the Almighty give him rest and peace

      But those are the kind of things I am talking about. I have a large extended family; I had a young cousin killed by a horse, another lost a hand to a PTO, a third turned into a retard by a horse….. its a hard dangers life even with all the modern aspects of farming but it builds men and you come of age much younger.

      Reply
  3. Exfernal

    In my country, the most enthusiastic members of ZOMO were raised rural/big city poor. Useful tools for the establishment of that time. Little capacity for self-reflection, in general.

    I’m born rural and I am currently living in a village consisting of twenty-something homesteads, so I’m not talking out of my ass.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      also when you give dirt poor people something, no matter how small they tend to become fiercely loyal. You can see that in america politics

      Reply
  4. Cill

    Your talk of the country life brought back old memories. My dad used me and my siblings as sheep dogs. The girls were the eye dogs and boys were the huntaways and we’d work the sheep up and down the mountain faces. In my spare time I built dams in the rivers. My dams got to be too big and successful and the Water and Soil Conservation Authority ordered my dad to put a stop to it. So I took to building Pa (Maori forts). I learned a lot about warfare by building full-size replicas of Pa. My great granddad said “If the Japs attack us we’re all heading straight for Cill’s Pa, okay?” He even drilled the entire family to make sure we got it right. (He fought in WW2).

    Also hunting was a big part of my work in the country. Rabbits and possums were officially noxious pests. We’d cut off the tails of deer and take them to the Game Board for bounty, and of course we never had to buy meat. I killed a 250 pound wild boar with a knife when I was 16. I learned how to gut and butcher, too.

    N.C.O. soldiers, friends of my dad’s, said country boys make the best soldiers in warfare because we are used to taking life. Like Charles Upham, double VC and Bar.

    http://www.badassoftheweek.com/upham.html

    I knew lots of men like that. That’s why I’m never in any doubt what a real alpha male is. City women might be fooled by the posturing “bad boys” but country women are not, at least the ones I know.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      LOL somethings are universal

      I lived in Hawaii for 2 years and learned about the Maori, mostly I hung with Somoans but I enjoyed all the Polynesian folk ( expect Hawaiians. Go figure)

      Thanks for the link. I use to enjoy the bad ass of the week place

      I am not sure city girls are fooled as a lot of them have ended up in my bed over the years

      I’m not sure city girls are fooled as a lot of them use to end up in my bed.

      Reply
      1. Liz

        Yep.
        Although, as a mother that kind of freaks me out. My 16 year old has gone boar hunting, but he had a gun

        LOL typical mom answer….. and totally acceptable

  5. Cill

    The city girls get fooled by the false alphas until they meet a real alpha, right?

    “expect Hawaiians” Not sure what you mean… Typo? Did you mean except Hawaiians?

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      lol I got along well with everyone but native Hawaiians. Not sure if that says something about them or me, but the Somoans were like long lost brothers to me, Within weeks I had this huge extend Somoan family who invited me to do everything, taught me about their old ways, took me hunting and spearfishing…. really an amazing experience

      Yea Sumo, I’ve seen guys do that with pigs. Its bad ass bro. The kind of everyday bad assery of men that goes unnoticed.

      Yep Cill until the meet an actual man. I’m not really ensure if its alpha just masculinity. I have this theory that honest in your face, raw and unapologetic is so rare these days women don’t know how to guard their virtue from it. I haven’t written about it yet because I haven’t figured it all out to my satisfaction but….. I was working on a shed with my friend a while back. His 9 year old comes out and starts giving off IOI…… freaked me out and sent me running. Any rate when I 1st emerged from my divorce I had to learn how to pick out married women on the prowl. I was the lamb they were the wolf…. cannot have that now can we?This was in Hawaii and what I noticed was the married women who acted like that had weak husbands, wives of the Somoan’s never did and I have not yet meet the weak Somoan. Also I get a lot of IOI’s from Black chicks, despite of our because of the Confederate Flag tattoos, Nordic symbols on my arms etc etc

      Damn I’m going to work as I feel I’ve not explained myself very well and might as well stop while I am behind

      Reply
      1. Cill

        I reckon I know what you mean. I have Samoan mates too. Good people until they get drunk. When they learn booze is bad for them, they stay good people, some of the finest I’ve met. Maori too. The hard Pakeha (white) country men who live in the harsh terrain are second to none. There’s hardly a bad one among them. The bad and the weak get weeded out.

        FWIW knife was the way to kill a boar. We didn’t do it to show off. The rifles we had were mostly .308 and .303 leftovers from WW1 and WW2 that somehow found their ways into my ancestors’ hands after the wars ended. 😉 Those rifles wouldn’t stop a charging boar. The boar have skin way tougher than a deer, then an inch-thick armor gristle beneath the skin, then thick bone. Tapping a boar on the shoulder is like knocking on a heavy wooden door. There were lots of wild pigs, the biggest being the barrows. I lost count of the number I killed with a blade. There was nothing spectacular about it, it was a job. Work.

        and that my friends is why I love hunting pigs, like living tanks

      2. Cill

        The man thing: I’ve been thinking about this a lot. The biggest difference I noticed when I first lived in a city was city people put on an act. Country people don’t (or if they do it doesn’t work). City people are more artificial. With country people it’s WYSIWYG. Country communities sort the wheat from the chaff until there’s not much rubbish left.

        If we’re talking about the tough country life, well, the weak don’t survive there. In the country we’re used to dealing with quietly strong people. They are confident. In the city I didn’t meet men like myself who take physical risks as part of their daily lives. Even by walking around and looking at the way men move, I could tell. Calculated risks change a man for good. My Charles Upham and your Audie Murphy were good examples.

        I think we are describing the same thing its delayed version of maturity in the city and a lot of false bravado…. which would get you punched in the face where I was raised. Not that we didn’t have our loud and brash folk

      3. Sumo

        You may not think there’s anything spectacular about it, Cill, but I do. Guess it’s one of those “grass is greener” deals.

      4. Cill

        sumo

        What I meant was not a put-down, I meant most of hunting was real hard yakka. A typical example would be 2 of us butcher a mature stage in situ and end up with about 200 pounds each to carry on our backs. That’s a big weight by the time you’ve hefted it up and down a dozen 1000+ foot ridges during an overall 6000′ descent to home. And before you even start for home, you’re already pretty much stuffed from the effort of the hunt.

        My city friends beg me to take them out hunting and I usually don’t for 2 reasons. First, I’d be babysitting guys who think firearms licences make them instant experts, and secondly, I stopped enjoying hunting for the sake of it by the time I was 12. The novelty had well and truly worn off by then.

        Thanks for giving me those links further up BTW sumo.

        I love to hunt and I love to hunt with other hunters but it kills my joy if I am dealing with to many rookies. Unless its easy like birds or fishing in my pond

      5. Sumo

        Cill, if any apologies are owed, they’re from me to you. Re-reading my reply, I realize that it’s a little terse. I didn’t think it was a put-down at all; what I should have said that while hunting a boar with a knife (still frickin’ badass!) might seem commonplace to you, to a guy like me, with zero hunting experience, it’s damned impressive.

        I had a couple of run-ins with bears when I was a kid (by “run-in”, I mean that they stared at me for a couple of seconds then wandered off to shit in the woods or whatever it is that bears do), and my mother’s family farm had a few horses, a pony, and a few large dogs running around. I learned early in life to respect the power that certain animals have, and from everything I’ve heard, wild boar are vicious bastards.

        I would describe myself as a student of the blade, so I have a decent understanding of the limitations of such a tool; thinking about it being used against a 250 pound “living tank” is awe-inspiring to me.

      6. Cill

        sumo,
        “living tank” is a great description of a boar. If you know farm fencing you’ll know what a high-tension 10-wire strained stock fence is. A 1600 pound bull could not get through one.

        I saw a boar running flat-out down a slope go through a high-tension 10-wire fence like it was made of spaghetti. The wires lashed around like tentacles slashing bits off trees. The boar just kept on running. “living tank” is it. Cheers mate.

      7. theshadowedknight

        My parents got a couple of pigs to slaughter one year. We fed them apple mash left over from a cider maker to sweeten the meat, then we tried to take them to the butcher.

        Hah…

        So, finally, we get fed up with wrestling with two pigs, and my dad gets his 1911 and puts a bullet in between the eyes of the first pig.

        Then he puts about five more in, and I am talking hollowpoints at a range of about two feet.

        Pig is now upset, and proceeds to thrash, flail, and scream for a few minutes… while it is aspirating its brains through its sinuses.

        So my mom figures, fuck it, we will finish it off now that it is calm. So she cuts its throat with a machete, clean down to the spine. You can see the bone, now, at this point… and the pig goes off again, carrying on like we were trying to kill it or something.

        Took it ten minutes after having had its head cut two thirds of the way off to finally calm down enough that we could drag it on the trailer, and it was not yet dead. It did not even get the knife until about five minutes after the bullets. Those things are too durable, and they were livestock, not ferals.

        The Shadowed Knight

  6. Farm Boy

    Now often farm boys seem goofy and out of place to city kids.

    I did. Then I realized that they did not know as much as the pretended. And that I knew much that they were clueless about.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      Glad to see you wander this way Farm Boy; city “wisdom” is usually puffed up and over inflated country boy wisdom is as old as dirt and has lasted down the ages

      Reply
  7. Cill

    Sumo “Pretty sure some hippy liberal bitch teacher confiscated them when we moved off the base and into the city.”

    Doesn’t it brass you off? My teacher hauled me inside for holding a bent twig like a gun in the playground. She slapped my stuff on the desk one by one. “Everything of yours looks like a gun. Your pencil looks like a gun! Your eraser looks like a gun! Your bag looks like a gun! Everything is guns guns guns! And you know what? Your father’s car looks like a gun!” I tried to picture my dad’s Ford Mercury as a gun, and realized the wing mirror on the right did slightly resemble the bolt action on a .303, so I said “And you know what? Your husband’s nose looks like a cock.” It was the simple truth, but she didn’t like it and I was suspended. I was too wild for school, but now I’m an engineer. Good things can come out of bad. 😉

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      lol when I was a kid almost every one had a gun in his truck or car. Lots of hunting before and after school etc and we often skipped school to hunt…. including the teachers

      Reply
  8. infowarrior1

    At least those effeminate city boys can get ahold of guns and take down a few thugs in our modern day.

    Imagine what it will be like before gunpowder. They ain’t going to be doing so well with swords,clubs and halberds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

