The problem with modern men

Nailing down the problem is a bit difficult. If I had to sum it up the problem it would be a lack of Tactical Virtues, but that is actually a series of deficiencies.

However a problem with most modern men is no blood on their hands. To live is to take life. Even if you are a vegetarian, critters are killed to protect your carrot patch. If you are a meat eater, then you kill a lot of critters to keep going. How much meat, chicken, beef and pork does your family eat? All those lives taken to keep your life going.

Now I have no moral qualms about my life coming at the expense of other living creatures. Where I think so many modern men go wrong is that they hire out way to much of their own killing. They don’t kill their own food; they go to the local grocery store. They don’t shoot their own dogs when they get to sick to recover, they take their companion to the vet…. How do you trust a man who doesn’t shoot his own dog? The state kills the murders in their community; few serve in the military and very few who do serve do the actual dirty work of preserving the body politic. They don’t kill the men who rape their children… they don’t kill. They don’t have actual blood on their hands so they have no real idea what it takes to perpetuate life and keep order. ‘

How can such a man be trusted to understand good governance if he is so far removed from the use of force? How can a man govern his family if he isn’t the one doing the actual protection and threat removal? How does he manage his own life when he is so far removed from the death which sustains his living? Or worst, doesn’t understand his life comes at the expense of other living creatures? How does such a man properly value life when he is so far removed from death?
I got to thinking this at dinner tonight. I was eating with some other high muckety mucks. It’s “steak” night and I said something like I wonder how many cows you have to slaughter to feed this many people a day. A man said “gross I don’t want to think about it”. Of course he is some college educated city fag from Mordor and working for the government….. explains much doesn’t it?

I tried to watch the movie Battleship today. The movie’s would be heroes play soccer. I tuned it off. I don’t have much willing suspension of disbelief. That some Navy puke without a Budweiser badge will save the day is about all I can buy into. There is no way on God’s green earth soccer players are going to save the world from space aliens unless for some crazy reason the only way to save humanity is by catching AIDES in a San Francisco bath house.

65 thoughts on “The problem with modern men

  1. Cill

    If they killed their own food they wouldn’t be so stupid. A bunch of polite townees arrived at my beach and tried to talk me out of hunting. They call me Moehau Man (Kiwi Sasquatch) because of my height and hermit life style. I showed them possum damage in the native forest out back of my house. Of course they want NZ to keep its native trees, but they thought killing possums with 10-80 poison is more humane than a hunter putting a bullet through their heads. They really were that dumb. I shot a possum in front of them and the women shrieked, but they had to admit it was quick.

    I think I convinced them, but if they come again I’ll send them packing.
    First I’ll quote your words at them: “How does such a man properly value life when he is so far removed from death?” It’s the simple truth. We kill everything we eat, whether it’s flora or fauna.

    Reply
      1. Cill

        Another great post Ton. “How does such a man properly value life when he is so far removed from death?” I’ve memorized those words of yours, and I’ll use them from time to time, as I said.

        I get visits from women who are too scared to come alone so they come in boatloads to check out the Moehau Man freak (me). One time I hid behind some rocks then jumped out with a roar. Man it was funny, they ran like a bunch of squawking chickens. There was no looking out for each other, either. Three of them jumped in their dingy and rowed like hell, leaving the rest stranded on the beach with me. Not much courage there.

      2. Liz

        Eel is really good eatin’. But that is one ugly animal. Probably the ugliest animal with the exception of the blobfish (which probably tastes like mud).

    1. redpillgirlnotes

      They don’t realize a bullet hits the target, poison can kill many other animals than the one intended. But yes, sadly, people are that dumb. And in their not knowing, actually choose the worse option.

      Reply
      1. sfcton Post author

        I would steer you away from martial arts and into learning how to and actually fighting.

        Wow bro, I knew weapons etc where tight there but had no idea they were that strict. And I thought Aus had a strong hunting tradition. Man that has to suck my friend

      2. sfcton Post author

        MMA, boxing, kick boxing, ju-jistu…. stay away from anything and any club that does get into the ring. Worlds apart from the who flung dung stuff

      3. sfcton Post author

        be careful with the krav maga. their are way more hacks out there then good instructors. Well thats true of all which is why I recommended a club that gets into the ring. Thats the real test of your training

      4. infowarrior1

        ”Well thats true of all which is why I recommended a club that gets into the ring.”

        Wouldn’t going into the ring apply for martial arts that double as sports rather than self-defense?

      5. sfcton Post author

        such has? most traditional martial arts point fight at best which means nothing. if the club doesn’t get in the ring and brawl they are basically teaching you how to dance

      6. sfcton Post author

        sparring is important but it does create the same kind of mental toughness that getting in the ring does. not as much at stake when you spare vs when you fight a man who wants to win in front of a crowd

      7. infowarrior1

        The thing is when one is attacked on the street you will most likely face a group attacking you. And that there is no rules of engagement so many attacks off limits in the ring can be utilized as well as weapons.

        That’s why I lean towards learning krav maga which features as sparring multiple people at once attacking me. And fighting the way out of it. As well as fighting against armed opponents when I am unarmed.

      8. sfcton Post author

        the down fall of that is no full contact in KM. Also here in the usa like 98% of all crime is one on one. Most likely in AUS as well.

        Plus the really dirty stuff is simple. A jab is a jab, extend your fingers some and its a jab to the eye. and so on and so

      9. infowarrior1

        You saying that the padding is detrimental to the training?

        absolutely and their engagements are heavily scripted meaning its more of a dance then a free for all like a real brawl

      10. infowarrior1

        Yeah. The so called conservative John Howard government confiscated our guns using the mass shooting at Port Arthur as an example. Australia is currently quite the leftist nation even traditionally masculine men are leftist.

      11. infowarrior1

        Anyway here’s what one guy had to say about Australian laws:

        There are no weapons that can be carried in public (even concealed weapons) as they can be used against you or to commit a crime.

        Restrictions on firearms are very strict since the Howard Government introduced laws after the Port Arthur Massacre in 1996.

        Now any weapon (or anything that could be used as a weapon) is illegal. Most weapons (knives, swords and nunchucks) can only be used for display purposes and firearms must be kept at home in a locked safe bolted to the floor and separate from ammunition. You can obtain a licence to carry a firearm if it’s needed for employment, sport or primary industry. It is never legal to carry ANY weapon for self defence.

      12. Cill

        Can you head out to the bush mate? The pigs have too many worms but there is good game to be had. If you want to know which parts of Oz to go I could give you some pointers (I’m half Aussie).

      13. infowarrior1

        Don’t have the money right now. But we can keep in touch. Would you give me your email address?

        Anyway what weapons can I get a hold of in Australia to hunt?

      14. Sumo

        It is never legal to carry ANY weapon for self defence.

        ‘Tis much the same here in Canada. That’s why the four knives I never leave the house without are for opening mail, trimming my fingernails, cutting the seatbelt off in the event of an automobile accident, etc.

        Ain’t no self defense intent here, officer, no sirree.

      15. Cill

        @infowarrior1 I didn’t know it was that hard to get firearms in Aus. For me it’s easy because I visit friends in the boonies and they supply me with a weapon (illegally I now realize). In the sub-tropical areas up north you can hunt “salties” (crocs) (probably illegally as well) and the meat is okay. Kangaroo tastes okay too, and some snakes, and you can eat a type of ant that tastes like honey. Just pick them off the trees and straight down the hatch.

        Head to Darwin or Cairns and make friends with an outback Aussie in a bar. Election day is best, when they come to town to vote. Most are good blokes.

      16. sfcton Post author

        who does? but for a trained MMA fighter beating down untrained vibrants is not a difficult task. Heck just being able to use your shin as a weapon and driving into their shins is a major advantage

  2. sfcton Post author

    not really a fan of either eel or octopus but they really put a whammy to the lobster and crab population and I had friends who loved ’em. I would “trade” eel/ octopus for tuna or lobster

    Reply
  3. redpillgirlnotes

    I raise my own poultry for both eggs and meat. One year I raised a pair of turkeys, one names “Thanksgiving” and the other named “Christmas.” Well Christmas disappeared without a trace one day, I am not sure if he was liberated or if the local coyotes got him. But Thanksgiving was something of a local celebrity at my farm-based agrotourism biz. It was amazing to see how people reacted to see a live turkey come lumbering around the corner, instantly their cameras were out and they were snapping selfies with a real, live turkey. Thanksgiving was a savvy fellow and he played a Charloette’s Web type play, charming visitors with his friendly almost dog-like demeanor and head that would change from blue to purple to red to white depending on either his mood or the temperature, I am not sure. In any case these visitors would eventually plead, “You’re not going to EAT him, are you?” Looking at me horrified. Rather than tell them the turkeys they eat every year live their entire life confined in stinky, dirty barns filled with thousands of birds packed in so tight they just walk over the bodies of the dead, while mine grazed and foraged in the green grass and ate only the finest organic feed, I simply said, “No.” And I didn’t. Then one day I jinxed him, at that time he was likely 40+ pounds, and he lumbered around like a dinosaur. “I can’t believe the coyotes haven’t gotten him yet,” I was foolish enough to say aloud. That next day they did, and I bet they had no ethical qualms about eating my big, juicy, free range, organic fed turkey. I must admit I wished I had not caved to peer pressure but had eaten him myself. But yes Ton, you are right. Most people think it cruel to raise and butcher livestock for meat, and yet they eat meat every day themselves, never considering the conditions that meat was raised under, the antibiotics and hormones it was fed, the people that worked for minimum wage and in dismal conditions slaughtering and butchering animals all day for them so they could be spared “feeling bad.”

    When I eat one of the chickens I have raised, I feel reverence for it, and I make probably three meals from each, so nothing is wasted. That’s the difference between doing it yourself and buying meat wrapped and plastic and fooling yourself into thinking it grew on a tree that way.

    More people could do with some farm living. Like a good friend of mine, raised in cities all her life, and is terrified of ladybugs and bees yet doesn’t blink an eye at cockroaches. Yuck. I’ll take the ladybugs and bees any day!

    Reply
    1. Liz

      “Then one day I jinxed him, at that time he was likely 40+ pounds, and he lumbered around like a dinosaur. “I can’t believe the coyotes haven’t gotten him yet,” I was foolish enough to say aloud. That next day they did, and I bet they had no ethical qualms about eating my big, juicy, free range, organic fed turkey. I must admit I wished I had not caved to peer pressure but had eaten him myself.”

      That sucks, Bloom! 😦
      You really should have eaten him….that meat would have been so much better tasting, and better for you and your kids than the storebought kind. Those people are morons. And the coyotes didn’t kill the poor thing “humanely” I’m sure. But, circle of life, and all that.

      Reply
      1. redpillgirlnotes

        @ Liz this may be tmi but that turkey was so big, I am not kidding re: 40+ pounds,the coyotes could not carry him off the first night. they feasted and then came back the next night to carry off the rest! I hear coyotes are pretty good hunters, so hopefully Thanksgiving didnt see it coming 😦

    2. Liz

      Just to add, that’s actually really cool that you kill your own poultry, Bloom. Kudos to you. I don’t even like to fish. My husband recently brought back some pheasants from a hunting trip…it’s always interesting preparing a bird with the claws still on.

      Reply
      1. sfcton Post author

        pheasant is what chicken should taste like and when(ok… if) I settle down I want to raise them. Right now I just have chickens

      2. redpillgirlnotes

        @ Liz I didn’t actually “do the deed” my friend did. But I help w the rest all the defeathering, cleaning, etc. it’s a lot of work but the checked tastes so much better than store bought. Again my birds eat grass and bugs and get plenty of fresh air and sunshine. Most chicken raised commercially live their whole life in a small cage with several others until butchering, no exercise or normal chicken life. That’s why I started raising my own, I figured then I know they had a good life. Animals farmed like they are plants not beings is not a good thing, IMHO.

      3. sfcton Post author

        I’m such a prole I’ve never noticed the difference. Do with the eggs though and in my defense I do my best to eat mostly game. Ton likes killing and eating what he kills…. the law would be a little less happy with me though

  4. Take The Red Pill

    “…More people could do with some farm living. Like a good friend of mine, raised in cities all her life, and is terrified of ladybugs and bees yet doesn’t blink an eye at cockroaches.”

    Completely agree with you that more people (especially the big-mouthed city-based ‘ecologist’ idiots who don’t even know where milk comes from) could do with some farm living — but I doubt that they could hack the workload or do without their precious electronic toys.
    And the older I get, the more that I regard lifelong big-mouthed city dwellers as some lifeform similar to cockroaches.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      lol expect cockroaches serve a purpose, city people seem to be net consumers and often what the do produce is of no value…. like fiance… ie usury. something considered a sin for thousands of years in numerous cultures of all sorts of ethnic back grounds

      Reply
  5. Exfernal

    It’s leaving your dog to strangers to put down part that’s despicable, not the ‘avoiding killing him with your own hands’ part. After all, even asphyxiation from ‘breathing’ pure nitrogen for awhile seems less painful than a bullet through the brain. No carbon dioxide inhaled means no panic.

    Lots of people can’t live with the fact that dying is inseparable from living. They simply are terrified of the prospect of their own death. Can you blame them?

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      to me you kill your own dog because #1 a man does the hard things in life and #2 it’s more humane then what the vets do.

      Can I blame them? Yep

      Reply
      1. redpillgirlnotes

        I have had two cats euthanized at the vet (both had terminal illnesses and were suffering) but I stayed in the room and held them until they fell asleep. I didn’t have a gun, nor would I know how to do a clean shot with confidence, but I can see if you have one and know what you are doing, it’s way more humane than a trip to the vet, the stress of that, unfamiliar surroundings, etc. Better for them to enjoy a good steak and not even see it coming.

      2. sfcton Post author

        lol you are a girl darling and different rules apply. Notice I comment very little on women should or shouldn’t do? Not my lane though I know what I like…. blondes, redheads, brunets

  6. redpillgirlnotes

    True Ton, women are not really meant to do such things except if there was no other alternative, although I know a few who can wring a chicken’s neck without a second thought. They all grew up in logging towns, a whole other way of life. I think most women would prefer their man do the deed, then they cook the dinner. That’s the way my grandparent’s worked that anyway. They were farm folk, both sides, and while my grandmothers were strong women they were also both sweethearts. My one grandmother, despite their main crop being high quality lamb, she loved them so she never served lamb at her table. But all the other meat on their table (and milk and butter and eggs and veggies and fruits) they raised themselves. But not lamb.

    Reply
  7. Cill

    One old dog looked back at me along the barrel as if he was lining me up too. He had a knowing look in his eyes, like “it’s okay boss, just get it over with”. I always skin my dogs and ask my mum or sisters to make it into something I can wear because it’s what my dogs would want me to do. They made me a vest that is now a coat from the skins of 5 dogs and it’s lighter and tougher than sheep skin and every bit as warm.

    A bullet through the brain is best. Venison is way better if it comes from an unwary deer because it’s not full of adrenaline. The older men wouldn’t let me shoot unless I could drop the quarry with one clean shot through the brain. More than one shot ruins the meat. But half the time the deer senses it’s being tracked so the venison is going to be tough anyway.

    That’s why farm-kill meat is always far superior. The beast is happily munching grass and then bang, instantly dead. Beautiful meat.

    Reply
  8. BuenaVista

    What is a “budweiser badge?”

    ***

    In a twist on Ton’s OP, a friend of mine (a surgeon) is quietly advising her dad on his own suicide. He’s in severe decline, the mother is brain-dead and institutionalized with Alzheimer’s, and he doesn’t want to shoot himself. So my friend quietly advised him to request a particular narcotic, and set it aside — on the condition that he allow her to be with him when he downs the final cocktail. She’s absolutely matter-of-fact about the whole business, though I’m sure it helps that somebody dies on her once a week (she’s an oncologist).

    It’s a Stoic idea that there is little practical consequence to death, as it is an experience and condition utterly separate from life. As we are living, the contemplation of death is both impractical and delusional. (Obviously Christians demur.) All we know is that it awaits, for one and all.

    Sentimentality is a trap. A farmer friend is devoted to his barn cats, and early every morning he shakes out a pint of dry food for them, coos and scratches, smiles and talks to them. But they breed wildly, so periodically he walks about with a .22 pistol and culls the population.

    Reply
    1. Exfernal

      If it’s death as nonexistence, then I agree. If it’s prolonged agony before it, then I strongly disagree. Nothing impractical nor delusional about it.

      Reply
      1. BuenaVista

        I fear incapacity more than pain. The three times I was near death I was suffused with peace, happiness even. It was very pleasant. Each involved gross physical trauma, but for the first I was too young to know what was going on.

        Anyway, what I fear is being 40% for 10 years, which I think is the norm. I don’t think that will be much fun, particularly as a bachelor. Neil Young: “Better to burn out than fade away”, from this seat in the bleachers.

        I’ll leave the nonexistence/eternal existence question to the bar.

      2. Sumo

        I’ve been injured “in the line of duty” and temporarily (for 2 1/2 months) been a cripple. I’d rather die than go through that again.

Leave a Reply

