Money for tools…. I mean money as a tool

Ask folks to define money and I reckon you’ll get all sorts of answers but reality is money is a tool, nothing more,nothing less. Money used wisely is exchanged for goods and services but will also buy you options, time and liberty. Used unwisely, money will be the tool that builds chains, ensnares you and keeps you in the bondage of debt. Like all tools, you have to know how to use money, other wise it can be dangerous. A lot like women. Learn to master tools, money and chicks and your life will be much easier.

The Bible talks about money more then any other topic; I’ve heard tell there are 800 references to money in the Bible.Clearly its an important topic. The Bible tells us a man in debt is enslaved to the debtor; the Bible teaches us a wise man builds up his wealth, spends his money prudently; is generous with his money, staring with his family and working his way outward; that a man should count his money and know his wealth; to save for that lean times and that a man should count the cost of things before he gets started. Course a lot of them there lessons talks about live stock and what not but wealth is wealth.

1st lesson is the dollar you spend on one thing cannot be spent on another. Second thing is, every buiness out there is looking to make money off you. Whatever they are trying to sell you is the means of separating the fool…. I mean you and his money. The banking system is set up to transfer your money to someone who already has money. Banks, that nice lady at your favorite restaurant etc are all trying to get you to voluntary transfer your cash to them.  They are not your friend. Anyone trying to help you get rich, or make you extra money or sell you an investment is trying to 1st and foremost make money off you. Any time there is money on the table, someone is going to be the winner and someone the loser and the entire system is set up to make you, the person spending money, the loser.

There is money and there is wealth. If you owe money on something, like a house, it is not wealth, its a liability. Wealth is not 1’s and 0s in a bank somewhere. That isn’t real or tangible. What you hold in your hand, or have buried in you back yard is yours. Wealth doesn’t fold and paper money is a giant fucking con game. A silver dollar in 1963 was worth…. you guessed it a dollar. That same silver dollar will cost you about 13 bucks today. Inflation robs you blind but works great for the banks and government.

Lets see a show of hands of men who would shit can their job and go do something else more exciting, fun, less stressful etc but cannot because he is tied to a certain lifestyle and/ or carries debt? Yea then you are slave to that debt and lifestyle. Normally that’s a good size number of fellas. Debt makes you a slave.I relearned that lesson when I was divorced. I was saddled with a large amount of alimony, child-support, a house payment I could not afford because of alimony and child support and credit card debt I didn’t know existed. I was hit with lifetime alimony and will be a slave for as long as my ex wife lives…. debt is slavery and so is marriage. Don’t do either. Now things wouldn’t play out the same way. The house I am living in now cost less then my yearly salary. Ok less then my E7 pay since thats when I bought it. Funny thing is, it keeps me warm in the winter and cool in the summer just as well as the house that was 3 times my yearly salary.

My big weakness on these money things is cars and bikes. Ton loves to go fast. I have downsized a fair amount here. This weekend I picked up another bike, a 1998 Electraglide, but have the other three Harley’s being sold on consignment. I always try to offset my additional expenses with cuts somewhere else, or with a side job or hustle. I have always had a side job or hustle. When I was younger I worked as a bouncer, taught kick boxing classes, worked as a flunky in a bike shop, built rifles and sold them. I have rarely used my regular paycheck to pay for booze, bikes or guns. I always find someway to make spare cash to finance my fucking off time. Most of my rifles were paid for by building three and selling two. When the divorce came and things got real bad I went deeper into the underground economy. So much so that it made a lasting positive impact.

Most of the shit we buy losses value. I buy gold and silver and that price is in a constant flux. Houses always go up? Bullshit. 1st house I bought after my divorce cost 30K, 15k in sweat equity and its worth… about 45k today. That’s not a real increase in value. The housing market has its up and downs and has no guaranteed rate of return. That friendly old guy trying to sell you the american dream is 1st and foremost trying to make money off you.

The point in all this? A warning to be careful with your cash. Don’t keep up with the Jone’s.That shit is a lie, the whole economy is based on that lie. Debt is a lie, its playing, pretending you can afford xyz. Our whole economy is based on that lie. Sooner or later that lie will unravel, like all lies do. The less caught up in that lie you are, the better off you will be. Not just when the bill comes do but in your everyday life in the here and now. Value your freedom, liberty and security over a McMansion, gadgets and meals out. Value your sovereignty as a man over stuff women, politics and what not. There is a shit ton of methods to help you establish a budget and what not but remember they are looking to make money off you. I live off 70% of my take home pay. Whatever I spend the that 70% makes no never mind to me because I have saved 30%. Its not the most complex budget in the world, but it works for me.

If there is one take away from all this it should be the world is a hostile place, so is consumers driven market places of today.

 

this post brought to you by my son being a bonehead, apple pie moonshine and

 

 

37 thoughts on “Money for tools…. I mean money as a tool

  1. redpillgirlnotes

    I agree 100% Ton. Living below one’s means and having an economy stream B, C, D, etc. in addition to and on top of A is freedom. I live without way more than most, but I can also sleep at night. I wish I could say I am 100% free and clear, but I am not. But it is my goal. Debt is slavery. Damn straight. During the housing bubble I didn’t take a penny in equity, even though my property was double in value than I paid, and I am glad. Others I knew were refinancing every time they had 5k in equity. Most of them are renters now. I am not underwater, actually have equity! And even with that lesson, look at people today — living on money they won’t even have 5 years from now. How’s that going to work? Big hat, no cattle.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      Seems to me you are doing things right, or right for us middle class kind of folks. I have a friend who is on his way and works for a big name company selling finical services…. somehow advice meant for very wealthy people is now being marketed to middle class folks…. oh yea and that somehow is middle class people are suckers and an extra revenue stream. A lot of the advice out there isn’t necessarily bad but was never designed for middle class incomes. My grandfather retired well on a pension from the Army and three small rent homes, homes purchased from my grandmother’s earnings way back when women were oppressed and couldn’t be buiness owners and the like.

      I am pretty much a one trick pony on the revenue stream thing myself. I have a retirement check, which covers my alimony, a disability check which almost covers my fuel costs, I sell mountain dew to cover my weekend costs and….. I’ll leave it at that

      I bought my 30k house at the near peak of the market and got a lot of what the fuck looks for it. It was a wreck, in a bad area etc. Didn’t have an a/c… 1st thing I fixed was the a/c, the second was the neighbors. Less then a year later, with a lot of work and technical support from a friend who was crashing there with me it became more then liveable. Now its a revenue stream itself, same with my other house but none of that comes close to my contract work.

      Most of my wealth is tied up into things I can convert to cash if needs be.Guns, silver, bikes…. I always buy used cars, bikes etc so I don’t take the big hit in deprecation. I don’t keep much money in banks. I don’t trust banks and I don’t trust the govt to not privatize our savings if (when) things get bad.

      Unrelated noted, I was reading though my replies on another thread, I need to slow down the typing when drinking

      Reply
      1. redpillgirlnotes

        True re financial advice suited to the very wealthy aimed at those not in that category. I think people fall prey to that (and debt) wanting to “act” rich rather than “be” rich.

  2. redpillgirlnotes

    Now if the question is should I have SOLD (not borrowed equity) when my place was worth 2 x what I paid, the answer in retrospect would be “yes!” But I was emotionally attached… and I still love this place. On the other hand, I could love being not only mortgage free but also mortgage free on a rental that would be providing me positive monthly cash flow right now, had I been less emotionally attached. C’est la vie! Live and learn…

    Reply
    1. Liz

      Houses are a different business because most people can’t just buy and chuck houses like they would company stock. They need to live somewhere, and when the market doubles their house doubles…but so does all the other property around them. And there are other factors beyond ambiance…it’s a pretty complicated equation. Crime rates, schools, HOAs, length of commute to work, ect. We don’t own a home here and my husband commutes an hour each way to work, but it’s worth it. If we lived in the city, we’d have to be in a gated and guarded community and pay for private schools (which would set us back a lot more than paying extra rent/extra mortgage in a worse area, plus living in the city would drive me nuts).

      We bought our home in Virginia (which we hope to sell) right at the top of the bubble, but we didn’t have much choice. Had to live somewhere and the mlitary only gives you so long to make up your mind. We chose it primarily for the schools. Consider that a private school costing even a relatively cheap, by private school standards, 1K a month costs a hella lot as the kids add up, even with a discount…more than one’s ENTIRE monthly mortgage payment. So good school locations are worth the extra cost (plus, the home is more likely to retain its value).

      People who have pensions these days are lucky (knock on wood if/when my husband is able to retire on an active duty pension, it will be nice…if he takes the reserve retirement instead it doesn’t kick in until he’s 60 or maybe 65, but the active kicks in right away). Most people don’t get pensions any more with retirement these days, they put their money into 401ks. What happens when people retire en masse and start drawing money out? How can those people protect their life savings and retire with some sort of guaranteed income stream when interest rates are so low they’d only get about 10K interest to live off of, from 1 million dollars savings after taxes? Do they keep it all in stocks and run the risk of getting a 50 percent hit like 2008? Then they’re down to living off of 5K interest.

      Reply
      1. redpillgirlnotes

        All good points Liz. Hindsight is 20/20. I got lucky w my house, bought it right before the market took off. When the value doubled w/I a few years, I kept thinking it didn’t make sense. And like you say, everything else was high then too. In retrospect I could “feel” the bubble, or at least I could feel it didn’t make sense. Just like the dot com bubble, I had stock options I wish I had sold at the top of that, too!) So I have learned twice that feeling means “SELL!”

        As for retirement, that’s all a scary thought… Will retirement even be an option for our generation? Maybe if it means living in a corner of one of the the kid’s garage??? Boo 😦 ok now I am bummed out…

      2. Liz

        “Boo 😦 ok now I am bummed out…”
        Ack! Sorry Bloom, didn’t mean to bum you out. 😦
        This topic has been on my mind lately since I’ve been trying to smarten up on finances/investing lately.

      3. sfcton Post author

        House is no different, Its an investment and a place to keep the rain off you. In Hawaii I paid for tutors vs private school, much cheaper, but around here when someone mentions “schools” what they mean is a White school in a White neighborhood to avoid black dysfunction. Having to do that is like a not so covert tax.

        Even at the top of the market here folks were having a hard time getting rid of their homes. Its another scam.

      4. BuenaVista

        Out where I am these days, that man in the ratty overalls with the gut, bad haircut and the cheesy, floppy rubber boots might be running 1500 acres that he inherited. That makes his net worth north of $15 million.

        He still might write down his expenses in a paper ledger, changes his own oil, and vacations 50 miles away in a campground where he can pull his fifth wheel in August (between last spraying and before harvest). These guys don’t buy anything, except under protest, unless its deductible.

        I helped paint one such guy’s home and barns last September when I was getting on my feet and sick of lying in bed. He wrote a check to build his church in our town. But he remembers the mid-80’s, when farmers were walking behind the barn with a 12 gauge and ending it, because life without their own ground was … death anyway.

        If you ask such a guy why he doesn’t sell out he’ll look at you like you’re a crazy man. “And then what would I do?”

        So if one is fortunate enough to have a home place, it doesn’t matter what the nominal value of the property is.

        Meanwhile, in suburban DC, people flip, lease, burn, divorce, get invited to parties with other people who do the same. They’re supposedly the “smart set.”

  3. Sumo

    My big weakness on these money things is cars and bikes
    My big weakness is knives and other non-firearm weaponry. Probably have about $15k worth of the stuff kicking around somewhere, and that’s not including the bullwhips that I make. Books and DVD’s/blurays run a close second & third.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      thats cool Sumo. I have a ton of stuff, just figure out a way to offset the expense somewhere else; more money coming in or less money going out. Back when I still had a mortgage on this place, my house payment was less then a lot of folks at work were paying for trucks and cars. The lower house payment offset other expenses

      Reply
  4. redpillgirlnotes

    @ sumo, like my non-money money, knives and weapons never lose value, in fact only become more valuable when needed. And your ability to make weapons for next to nothing in materials (I am guessing) is better than money in a non-cash economy. Smart!

    Reply
  5. Sumo

    And your ability to make weapons for next to nothing in materials (I am guessing) is better than money in a non-cash economy. Smart!

    Ehhh….not so much. Whips are a specialty market; not really a lot of demand for them. I mostly do it to stave off boredom.

    Also, cost of materials isn’t exactly insignificant. Costs about $70 to make one.

    Reply
      1. sfcton Post author

        trade economy; I have traded moonshine for most of my tattoos. Recently it was 5 quarts of apple pie for touch up work on my Nordic/ Pagan Rune’s. $100 worth of work for maybe 20 bucks worth of booze, apple juice, cinnamon and brown sugar

        I do the same with a lot of the work I need on the bikes as well.

  6. BuenaVista

    Best advice on money I received as an adult came when I was dragging a large mortgage, funding two private school tuitions and a SAHM blah blah blah. Typical junior exec lifestyle, and one requiring a shit ton of life insurance on top of it all, because if I croaked or became disabled (worse than dying, by far), my ex- and the children would have been in serious trouble overnight. So the advice was this: it’s not what you display, it’s what you have. Just own things.

    When I got divorced and lost the house and had alimony and child support and school costs that reached their apogee with two children in private colleges, I moved into a small house in town that we never would have considered. And I had more disposable income! That was when the lightbulb finely lit. I had a housekeeper, I bought the divorced man’s german two-seater, I threw my daughter a party with a band when she turned 16, I took my Dad skiing every year in Canada.

    This compulsion to display is powerful in the USA. Thorstein Veblen, early 20th century social critic and economist, called it “conspicuous consumption.” It infects everything. Remember when pickup trucks were just tools? Now they’re rolling man caves, and a half-ton, if you want power windows and door locks, is pushing $40K. Thanks, I’ll drive my 13 year-old SuperDuty with the IH diesel than WILL NOT DIE. This year I will paint it and put a new interior in it. If I bought the new version it would run me $50K, be worth $40K by the time I got it home (if I’m lucky)

    I was looking at a particular German car yesterday, one I’ve always lusted for, because it has a twin turbo V12 that has 585 ft-pounds of torque. That car was built with the technology you usually see in jets. It cost $120-140K new. The twelve year-old one I looked at had 88,000 miles and is offered at $9K, and it is immaculate. I am not joking that the interior offers the comfort of a $20mm jet. What dynamic destroys 90+% of value in12 years in a vehicle that is still better than a new $60K Cadillac? Well, the need, in society, to conspicuously display the ability to shred money in front of the neighbors. It’s insane.

    I learned all this too late after too many sleepless nights wondering if I could keep the family going, stay healthy, retire early enough to write again, etc. I hope to capitalize my children’s first homes, on the condition that they buy their first homes, not borrow in order to rent from the bank.

    My weaknesses are, in order of priority: unstructured time, which is absent if one carries debt; anything with a motor or two; Amazon Prime; paintings. (Paintings and antiques, like guns incidentally, do not lose value if acquired properly. Airplanes, if acquired used, also appreciate at roughly the rate of a savings account. These things all have stored, as opposed to depreciating value; they are assets at the same time they provide pleasure.)

    Reply
    1. redpillgirlnotes

      Rent it from the bank, exactly! So true… Your kids are blessed to have that potential offer. Want to adopt me? (kidding!)

      Also true re trucks today, I need to buy one for my biz but holy smokes I just can’t believe the costs these days! When the time comes, I will probably look for an older model, like yours. Actually my fiancé comes w a truck, and he was itching to buy a new one (he says he has a metal addiction) until I pointed at his truck and said “every month you have that, it’s like having it hand you $700.” Now he loves his truck! 🙂

      All that keeping up w the Jonses stuff never made sense to me. Then again, I am not a “good little consumer” either. I don’t watch TV, don’t know anything about brands or fashion except what I like and looks good on me (I mostly shop consignment stores), drive a not cool (but paid off!) car, etc. My house is beautiful now but it was abandoned and so overgrown you could hardly see it when I bought it, people thought I had gone crazy, tried to talk me out of it, but 12 years later they can see now what I saw then. I probably should sell it even now, I could buy something smaller cash and live easy, but I love it too much. I am a weirdo. But you all knew that already!

      Reply
    2. sfcton Post author

      my paternal grandfather was all cattle and no hat… or all apples and no hat in his case. My maternal grandfather was old school money but his advice and lifestyle would be out of place these days. And not solid like it was for him

      I buy the things I know which is why I have money tied up in guns and what not. A couple of small rent houses is a good idea for most folks. and doable in my area of operations, but probably not in most locals. You can pick up rent houses in the 50-60k range around here without much research.

      A friend of mine out toward Texas owns an antique store. Man is that a complex operation. Leastwise on the technical information required to not get ripped off and what not.

      I am in the process of transferring a condo to my son. Its his early inheritance. I would like to do the same with my other home, but to my daughter but the usa hates it when parents transfer wealth to kids vs the govt.

      I have only bought one brand new car in my life. I picked up an 03 Terminator when I had a big, tax free retention bonus. Got a great deal on the ride because it was two model years old and paid cash. Its in my garage right now, but I doubt I’ll ever do that again. I was still fighting the divorce stuff in the courts so I was in a rush to spend my money before the judges and ex wife did.

      Reply
  7. BuenaVista

    A couple other thoughts, reflecting the brainwashing we have been subject to about the nature of money:

    We are conditioned, often, to become alienated to the core reality of money, which is that it’s a tool in an exchange economy. I went back to what my grandfather and father did: they put cash in their pocket once a week, and handed people real money when they bought something. My grandfather, who was a small town banker living a comfortable life, kept a little book in his pocket in which he wrote down everything he spent. Doing so makes the spending *real.* They didn’t use credit cards unless forced. Now even debit cards are illusory, as the sensation of swiping a card is very, very different than putting a few bills on the table to pay for dinner. People who exist to sell us stuff don’t want us to be so conscious of the money we’re shredding when we buy their (often unnecessary) crap.

    Second, I know few people who understand that what things cost is not related to what they think they “earn.” Because the government is going to take a good chunk of it before we ever see it. Example: a college promotes its annual costs as X. Highly selective schools now cost $50-$65K. They want us to think that’s what they “cost.” Well, anyone writing a check for $60K has to earn over $100K in pre-tax income to write that check. We need to consider the pre-tax cost of what we buy with post-IRS dollars. Because that’s what it really costs, in respect of our life and time and effort.

    I had drinks last night with a pipefitter buddy, aged 27, who is a good 20 years ahead of where I was at his age, in terms of understanding some of these things. He’s rebuilding a plant that burned, so he’s been working 12 hours a day, seven days a week, since June. He gets $45/hour and a $80 per diem (he’s from down south), and with the double and triple time he’s pushing $200K annualized now. He drives a 2008 with a Cummins and lives in a 31 foot fifth wheel trailer. It’s 20 below some nights now and he still won’t give his money to the Super 8; he’s the only guy left in the campground, obviously. He uses cash for everything. He is totally redpill without even, ever, hearing the term, has a girlfriend living in the trailer to look after him and his two dogs, and just says (in respect of marriage) “You can’t do that any more. I’ve already seen too many guys wiped out.” His mother left his father when he was two. “And my dad is still yelling about it because she never got remarried and more of his money went to her than he kept.” He paid for my drinks with a $100 bill. This cat has most of what he wants, and will likely keep it. I’ve had to rebuild my balance sheet twice in middle age.

    Reply
    1. Liz

      Good thoughts, BV.
      “They didn’t use credit cards unless forced. Now even debit cards are illusory, as the sensation of swiping a card is very, very different than putting a few bills on the table to pay for dinner. People who exist to sell us stuff don’t want us to be so conscious of the money we’re shredding when we buy their (often unnecessary) crap.”

      This is so true. I liken the credit/debit cards to the equivalent of casino chips. There’s a reason the house wants you to use those chips instead of real money, it creates the illusion that it’s not really money. My husband just started keeping a tally of what he spends, and budgeting for the first time. This is a real milestone in our lives. Even bigger than the day he started eating fruits and veggies for the first time in his adult life when he was about 33 and we’d been married ten years.

      Reply
      1. sfcton Post author

        lol that deal on the debit card is funny as hell to me and most def applies. I have no idea why but I spend a lot less money when I am walking around with 3-100 hundred dollar bills then when I am using smaller bills or the debit card.

        in a nutshell my money skillz run toward the old school, though I don’t write anything down. It would be a hard habit to maintain because of my lifestyle, Down range I don’t spend more then $100 a month so it would be to infrequent to developed

  8. sfcton Post author

    You type a lot BV but always leave a lot to think about…..

    Something BV brought up… permanency in buying. What I buy are things that last. I have the 1st set of weight plates I bought as a broke as jr enlisted guy. The rifles I own will last a lifetime; silver will always have value; tools are always needed. My TV is a flat screen but an early version of them etc etc. I have put 170k plus miles on most of the cars/ trucks I have owned…..

    I almost did a post on the post divorce economic difference between where my ex wife started off and ended up vs where I started off and am where I am now, but at one point I too was surprised to see I had more money for myself after the divorce dust settled. Probably about a year of intense struggling and readjusting. part of that was law breaking on my side, but thats another matter

    Thanks for the idea of stored value BV. I’ve lived like that for awhile now but no real concrete term like that

    Liz hit on something about military pensions, congress is always talking about fucking with it. My pension changed three times in 24 years and congress would love to push your military pension payout date back until you are 65. The liberal part of congress is hostile to the military, though they hide it better now. They hate masculinity and White men who acted like men so for them, going after the military is a twofer

    The trucks I grew up with were old state highway department trucks we bought at auction. It was a real mind fuck to see trucks with all the luxury stuff in them

    People like to dismiss the younger and up and coming men but they seem to understand a lot of things pretty damn well, Which is why they are not becoming good little draft horses for the State

    I do not plan of retiring. #1) seems like that’s what old folks do then wait around to die. I am not sure how long I will do the contractor route but even when I am done with that I’ll find something to do. maybe get a real job and see what folks bitch about.

    Reply
    1. BuenaVista

      I know I type too much, and am reminded of Capote’s comment on Jack Kerouac: “That’s not writing, that’s typing.” Oh well. So ban me.

      a. The idea of retiring has no appeal to me. My grandfathers worked into their 80’s, one on a tractor and one walking 3/4 of a mile each way in this village to his bank. They quit, and they each died in six months. My dad is 87. He’s currently enrolled in four state university classes, while also taking care of the psychopath wife.

      b. the truck thing is frustrating. a guy can buy a stripper for a good price now ($30K), but I can’t reach the manual window cranks from the driver side. Instantly, the trucks cost $10K more because of bundled options. I’ll stick with used. My last girl thought it was broken, however, because it sounds like a UPS truck. “That’s a feature, not a bug,” I explained. Grandpa Ed ran IH; so does BV.

      c. My friends in this town are mostly 20-somethings. It’s odd. I don’t hustle them or anything. My appearance aged 10 years in the last six months. We just get along. They don’t have much interest in discussing how the world works, like us oldsters, but I received the most heartwarming card from one 25 year-old man whom I mentor, for Christmas. I’m taking him to Ithaca to interview at Cornell this winter, if I can get my legs to function properly. (Neuropathy, strange stuff. Makes a shower an adventure.) The kids have lived it and seen it; most of us men just lived it when we were fatted calves blindly led into the packing plant. What’s shocking to me is what their lives have been: the biologist from this prairie, being recruited by Cornell, is the son of a woman who’s been married five times, thrice to the same man. So I think my role is to be a friend with a smile, and a standing rib roast on the table on the weekends. Women have no idea what is happening with young men, I say. They’re not going to lie down and get crushed. Women might not like the endgame here.

      d. Thanks for the blog, Ton. When do you depart for Indian country?

      Reply
      1. sfcton Post author

        still waiting on the contract to be approved BV, but we are trained, packed and ready to go. Damn man I want that contract so bad I can almost taste the money

        I mostly deal with younger men…. not sure what that says about me. Most of the men my age are tied up with family stuff but I do have a few older men that I bounce ideas off of. An infantry platoon is mostly 20 year olds, most of my crew is mid to late 20’s with a few 30 year olds thrown in the mix.

        heard about Ithaca shotguns; Cornell means nothing to me. take it is college of some regard

      2. BuenaVista

        Ivy League, Cornell University. This young guy is smart, and doesn’t realize yet how smart. I need to get him out of here so he knows. He’ll come back eventually.

        Should be a good road trip. I have a buddy with a vineyard 40 miles northwest of Ithaca.

      3. BuenaVista

        Riesling. His vineyard is only 7 years old but they can already get $20/bottle. He was named #45 on a list of “100 Important American vineyards”, so he is getting his buzz. That photo I sent you of me and son#2 bush hogging was from up there.

        There are good Rieslings in the Finger Lakes. The grape likes a lot of slate in the soil. That’s the way it is in Germany. I think he is going to make it, or at least have fun going broke.

      4. sfcton Post author

        nice. I am friends of sorts with a vineyard in these parts. They too are in the top 40 in sales, which never fails to strike me as odd and a reminder of how blessed NC is. Or could be if we ever escape the union

  9. Cautiously Pessimistic

    I got no reason to have fiscal responsibility, but for whatever reason, debt is abhorrent to me. And real estate isn’t my thing unless I want to pay rent on it in perpetuity (taxes) and I’m willing and able to die on that hill. I went into debt for college back when it wasn’t a lifetime commitment, and I’ve gone into debt for transportation on occasion. But on the few occasions that I’ve gone into debt, I’ve made every effort to get out of it as quickly as I can.

    My strength is that my desire for things has not grown with my ability to afford them.

    My weakness is that I don’t desire more than I have (which kills motivation to get more than I need at the moment and sounds like humblebragging).

    That and computers. But as I can build my own, it’s not as expensive as it could be.

    That said, even the computer feels like an anchor. Without that, I wouldn’t need electricity (though I’d miss hot showers).

    +1 to not getting married. Having someone in your life who can arbitrarily increase your debt load is not conducive to financial planning.

    Great if you can trust her, but you can’t trust her. Nope, not her either.

    Reply
    1. sfcton Post author

      LOL same here on marriage but I am 44 & the game wasn’t as poisoned then as now. Plus my rural and Southern upbringing kept me clueless for a number of years

      Reply

Leave a Reply

