diner

olive oil, garlic, heavy cream and Parmesan cheese

olive oil, garlic, heavy cream and Parmesan cheese

The wine is for the cook,

 

saute the garlic in the olive oil. each to taste.

saute the garlic in the olive oil. each to taste.

while drinking a bottle of wine. no glass needed

once the garlic is slightly browned poor the heavy cream into the pan.

once the garlic is slightly browned poor the heavy cream into the pan.

 

at this stage the cook needs more wine

 

add the cheese in small amounts, stir until its melted. rinse repeat until you are damn near out of cheese

add the cheese in small amounts, stir until its melted. rinse repeat until you are damn near out of cheese

this is the labor intense part. experienced drinkers… I mean cooks may continue the wine consumption

keep stirring until the cheese is melted and you have a smooth blend.

keep stirring until the cheese is melted and you have a smooth blend.

pour over the pasta of your choice. in this case I bought some Ravioli from Sam’s. One was stuffed with cheese the other chicken in cheese. We are having rib eyes on the side.

 

 

17 thoughts on “diner

  1. Sumo

    Please tell me that you didn’t actually use that powdered pseudo-parmesan crap for alfredo. IN THE NAME OF ALL THAT IS EDIBLE, PLEASE TELL ME THAT!!!!!!

    Reply
      1. Sumo

        LOL. I’m just busting your balls. Which you knew, of course.

        It’s kind of douchey to quote myself, but…” Do whatever the hell you feel like doing; this is YOUR kitchen, after all.”

      2. sfcton Post author

        LOL I was worried for your health…..

        I tried the real cheese and it was always a huge hassle to get it to melt correctly. Am I doing something wrong? Better gear maybe?

      3. Sumo

        Well, parmesan is a hard cheese, so it’s going to take longer to melt than something like cheddar. The “trick” is to use a high enough heat to facilitate the melt, while not high enough to scorch the cream. Without having used your stovetop, I couldn’t tell you what that would be for you.

        BTW, is that an induction stovetop?

        Aa far as “better” gear, maybe try stirring it with a whisk. A gentle stir, not like beating an egg. I’ve found that a whisk does wonders for cheese sauces.

      4. sfcton Post author

        Nope not that fancy. I hate that stove and will be replacing it this year. I swear I don’t recall having issues with cooking and other stoves

      1. SFC Ton Post author

        The Ton on facebook…. fuck no snake

        I will start making my own bacon again in a month or two. Just waiting for the weather to settle in some. I’ll do a post on it

        Friends of mine do free ranged mule foot hogs…. man that is some good eats but mostly I try to eat Bambi. I took time off from hunting after my brothers death but it looks like we are all ready for for the woods again.

        I also secured a line half sides of locally raised beef.

        It should be a glorious spring and summer

Leave a Reply

