2 minutes, 29 second lesson in masculinity

KENNY PRICE
Northeast Arkansas Mississippi County Bootlegger Lyrics

There wasn’t nobody that ever liked him farless loved him
If you never got the chance to get to know him you wouldn’t thought too much of him
Folks said he was half mean if that was so that’s all the mean he had to be
As big as he was
He was my daddy and he raised me
The northeast Arkansas Mississippi County bootlegger
I can’t say that all he did in his life was always right
I’ve heard talk back before I was born that he killed a man in a fight
But all I know about him was how he took care of his own
And some he didn’t have to
They’d shun him through the day but at night they’d bow
From the northeast Arkansas Mississippi County bootlegger
[ dobro ]
He was ma daddy and he raised me
The northeast Arkansas Mississippi County bootlegger
My mama used to take me down to the croosroard church on Sunday
The deacons and the ladies would talk about us and how we got our money
But that didn’t stop them
When they decided they wanted a brand new sanctuary they came to see mama
And the house of God was paid for
By the northeast Arkansas Mississippi County bootlegger
Now a man can only do the best he can by those he loves
And maybe the livin’ he made for us some others were jealous of
The law of the land said he couldn’t do it
But there’s also the law of supply and demand if it hadn’t been him
It might have been someone who wasn’t as honest
As the northeast Arkansas Mississippi County bootlegger
Yeah he was a good man when he died I cried
For the northeast Arkansas Mississippi County bootlegger

http://www.elyrics.net/read/k/kenny-price-lyrics/northeast-arkansas-mississippi-county-bootlegger-lyrics.html

13 thoughts on “2 minutes, 29 second lesson in masculinity

  1. Liz

    Good song, Ton. 🙂
    I plugged in the phone and listened to this on the way home in the car, about four times trying to make out the words.
    Now I notice you provided the lyrics. LOL!
    (heh, I’ve freely admitted that I’m dopey….exhibit number…5000 there) 😛

    Reply
  2. BuenaVista

    In the theme of Arkansas masculinity, I recommend the novel “Hot Springs” by Stephen Hunter, which introduces MoH winner First Sergeant Earl Swagger. Father, husband, retired drinker, master of the Thompson.

    Reply
    1. SFC Ton Post author

      Sound like a good man to have around when shit goes bad but the big news is…. a BV sighting. Like seeing Bigfoot.

      Howzit brother?

      Reply
      1. BuenaVista

        No big news. But going up 15 pounds a week in my squats and deadlifts. Nothing that would impress a First Sergeant, but in three months I’ll be stronger than when I was playing college football.

        Some hellacious issues making the shoulders work, though. (Forecast: pain.) I look like a monkey fucking a football on the hang cleans, and hit the hydrocodone this morning. You do that when it hurts to clear your throat, and I know you and others have been there.

      2. SFC Ton Post author

        Stop selling yourself short old man. This shit is amazballs BV. To come back from that wreck is bad ass. To be stronger sense college even more bad ass

        Are you using a foam roller? Or something like that? I am thinking you should be doing a good deal of recovery work

        And…..

        Crow rooster crow.

      3. BuenaVista

        Yeah, I get on the foam roller and yell a lot. I also roll on a baseball or softball on my legs and butt. Pretty amazing how effective it is. I had no idea. There’s probably a way to incorporate foam rollers in advanced sexual arts (pleasure? pain?), but I haven’t investigated yet.

        On the positive side, I have zero issues with my legs and lower back. Zero. OTOH, my left shoulder and left lat (that’s where I had surgeries) bark a lot. Fortunately, I have a coach, not a ‘personal trainer’, and he just shrugs and cuts no slack. He thinks I’ll have full range of motion in a few months.

        Thanks for the encouragement. I have to say, it’s fun flipping tractor tires at 6 a.m. The coach said that the first day I showed up — three months ago — I was so unsteady he thought I was drunk. Fortunately he didn’t throw me out.

      4. Liz

        If you have neck issues (you didn’t mention any, but they might be secondary…or other readers might find this helpful) an inflatable neck traction device like this one is really good:
        http://www.amazon.com/Cervical-Neck-Traction-Device-Shoulder/dp/B00U0K4RPO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1437824990&sr=8-1&keywords=neck+brace+inflatable

        It has helped Mike’s neck and upper back issues. Sometimes there is referred pain that doesn’t originate at the source, so even if the pain is a little lower, the neck brace might help. Pretty much every pilot I know has back issues, for the small planes it’s usually the upper back (and that brace helps a lot), for the heavies it’s the lower back. I know your accident messed you up in a big way, but some of these things might be related and add to your pain level so alleviating one issue might help.
        Good luck BV!
        You are badass and phenomenal! 🙂

      5. Liz

        “a BV sighting. Like seeing Bigfoot.”

        I’m always on the lookout for a BV sighting.
        Makes me jump up and down and clap and squeel with delight.
        Am I coming across as too needy? 😛

      6. BuenaVista

        Thanks, Liz. I’m actually feeling pretty good. I have bad form on my hang cleans because I’ve never done them before (still bending my elbows too much, prematurely, on the pull, whereas I’ve done upright rows thousands of times), and my left side/rib cage and shoulder were crushed, operated on, and then immobilized for a long time. So I now have a barking dog living in my left lat. I only have about 90% range of motion, in the left and right (I previously had rotator cuff surgery on the right, I have a five-inch piece of titanium strapping the left clavicle). Seems like I should expect this.

        Also, I had no idea how rapidly one’s strength collapses. I read that one loses up to 30% in the first two weeks of sedentary behavior, and then it takes six weeks to recover from *that*. I was mostly in bed for six months.

        I read an interesting story on the biomechanics of throwing (football and pitching baseballs) this morning; House suggests that it takes 1000 reps to teach new motion; 10,000 reps to embed the new motion and optimize it. I’ve only done a few hundred hang cleans.

        http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nfl/2015/07/23/tim-tebow-philadelphia-eagles-tom-house-quarterback-coach/30575803/

        But neck, core, right side, posterior chain, legs — they feel better than they have in 25 years. It looks like the lower leg neuropathies are permanent, but I’ve stopped thinking about it.

        Ton, it’s amazing how the science of barbell training has advanced. I wish I’d had some of this knowledge when I was playing ball. I’ll never stop with this regime — ever.

        There is an abundance of literature on “recovery” — usually the sappy stuff about kicking one’s meth-and-pederasty compulsions via some 12-Step protocol. But the experience of physical recovery from something grievous, particularly in one’s maturity where even the ‘healthy’ guys have given up and are sliding into Occupy Couch mode, is transcendental. As you noted.

        I appreciate the good will and encouragement, both of you.

  3. SFC Ton Post author

    Your coach gets the Ton thumbs up stamp of approval.

    I have always seen recovering from injuries as part of the quest for Valhalla. All part of the glory of being man and fully alive.

    I do love a good tire flip event. Still recovering from tearing my bicep 3 times in a year and sadly I have not taken a shot at my 900 pounder in a while. Long while, but I think it will go on the to do list

    I got fat as hell on my quest to push press 365 & have been focused on crippling weight. I am back down to 228. Probably shed another 15-20 before getting back into strongman again. Doing much better at the diet game thanks to my daughter’s wisdom

    Reply
  4. SFC Ton Post author

    Welcome to a sense of Vhallha on earth. Imagine how glorious the real version will be?

    Strength is retained longer then any o the attribute of general physical preparedness, but declines in like 11-14 days of inactivity. Or last I read.

    Mostly the science got better thanks to the ussr, and us being able to get the intell once the wall went down. They experimented on kids and adults like lab rats but figured shit out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

