Ton on Urban Prepping

To a very large degree I see no fundamental difference between prepping while living here in the rural South, a suburban neighborhood or the big city. We all need to eat X number of calories, drink X amount of water, prone to the same sickness, need to wipe our asses etc etc. The basics required to thrive and survive are the same. What changes is the priority list and how you weigh your options.

The 1st difference? The total amount of people. People suck, its humanities default setting and what research I have seen, people extra suck in cities. They don’t have the same feelings of kinship and are more likely to be nasty. If your urban living includes large pools of urban diversity…. well that’s a whole other level of suck. Compare how they acted in New Orleans after Katrina vs all them mid West White folk (many of them poor and all that other bullshit folks try to use to rationalize feral negro behavior) reacted to that nasty string of tornadoes a few years back. Sources I know and trust told me race was a HUGE issue after Katrina, with local law enforcement basically barring urban diversity form entering small towns/suburbs because of hordes of rampaging urban youth, towns inviting them in then having to evict them, feral negros moving to empty White neighborhoods to loot … real ugly bidness. Shot bursts of Mad Max on earth type of shit. Remember Tons Survival Rule #5; be surrounded by people who look like you…. Maybe. I don’t do rules very well… or math….. Lets see… Rule #1, be somewhere else when the shit hits the fan, rule #2? refer to rule #1 rule #3….be better then the other guy/ skills over gadgets/ don’t do dumb shit; rule #4 have a gun. Always…. fuck it. Some such order or another…. don’t take survival advice from the interwebz should be in there somewhere….

Hauling ass early is way more important for city folk. I would suggest you bail soon as you know whats about to go down but that requires…. well warning. Weathermen don’t have a successful track record in my opinion and there is a ton of unpredictable shit in the world. Not to mention who wants to look like a bitch by calling in sick for 3 days every time the weatherman gets a chubby over a potential hurricane? No fucking one. No one schedules a train derailing or peaceful urban protests. Urban youth is the primary threat. No matter what sort of shit storm you are dealing with urban youth with make it shittier and thats when they aren’t the ones making life meaner then it needs to be. Crime statistics make that true for city folks on the best days and the amount of youtube footage form various events…. well it ain’t pretty

Bugging out isn’t always practical though it seems the smartest thing to do. Soooo how do we overcome the non practicability of hauling ass? Organization. You need a crew you can trust and a plan that works if half the fuckers bail on you, and half will. 2 or 3 dudes with Mosin Nagant’s and Remington 870’s will go along way to solving your security issues. Rule of law will be established (job #1 to clear the way for other 1st responders is make sure 1st responders are safe as possible ie reestablish rule of law) so realistically you don’t have to Rambo it for very long and there will be much easier targets then you and your small crew. Lets face it you aren’t going head to head with an infantry platoon. If you are, run.

If you do bug out, have a back up plan to your ride, I am thinking one of those fold up bikes. Traffic becomes impossible? Grab your bag and your bike and get going. You don’t have to go far to get clear of the impact zone, 30 miles would do it, but ideally you’d want to get about 300 miles to make sure you can find a decent hotel room, restaurants that aren’t packed with hour plus wait times or whatever distances stands between you and friends or family who will house your sorry ass for a while. Why 300 miles? Well kin (ex kin?) spent 4 hours on the road fleeing Katrina. This as good as any place to say… cash is mother fucking king. I carry 2k on me as my portable emergency fund, and there isn’t much you cannot survive with 10k in cash, a passport and a Glock. Have a few escape routes pre planned, GPS are bad ass, get a map or three for back up and to scout out route options. Plan your route in advance and drive each one a few times. Well at least for the 1st 30 miles or so, maybe out to 100.

This is not the time to peacock. Blend in. Concealable vest, no outward signs of your ability to whoop ass. Keep fires etc low, don’t blare your radio while you’re partying your ass off on all the good chow and booze you have stored up. Watch what you say…. don’t say shit. Don’t pick sides in petty bullshit, don’t wear anything like insignia…. wouldn’t go so far as to say know gang colors etc and avoid them because the gangs already know who is who, but I have seen that warning kicked around a bit. Keep your shit hidden. GPS’s, fancy bug out bags, nice radios, high end watches, jewelery etc all say you have shit worth stealing. Don’t carry your weapon openly unless you are forced to defend your stash of stuff. Don’t look your on guard duty when you are on guard duty. Makes it look like you have stuff worth stealing. Blend in. It will help keep the law off your ass too. Don’t invite trouble, don’t look like the weakest mother fucker around either.

Guard your important documents like they are your life, because they will be once things improve or if the law picks you up for some dumb reason or another. Don’t argue with the law or 1st responders, tell them you will comply even though you won’t; do what you have to do so they’ll move on to the next guy then go about your bidness.

Storage seems like a small thing but damn, how will you apartment dwellers store 30 days worth of everything you need? I’d prefer you have 90 days. You won’t go 90 days but you’ll burn through more of everything then you think, plus someone you weren’t counting on will show up. I am thinking water will be the tough part. It takes up a lot of space and that means dehydrated food is probably a bad idea. Extra water/ extra space to store it. There is water in the shitter and hot water heater; you could fill your tub and sinks at the semi last minute. As I type this and think about my storage room, garage, barn and storage shed it just dawned on me that storage space is a big issue and one I don’t know much about. I raided Lowe’s and pimped out a room, my garage etc. Required money and some basic tool skills but not much imagination. I think y’all city folk will need some of that. I love those storage systems you get at Lowes and Home Depot. Like need a 12 step program kind of love

Will you be cooking in doors over an open flame? Vent that carbon-monoxide. Same if you need to heat a room that way. Buy them snares yet? Oh yea there are a ton of squirrels and what not to snare. Park with a pond and ducks and geese? Don’t forget the bread and a tennis racket. Renumber to snare birds with fishing string, small hooks and pieces of bait.

Taking a shit… you are going to have to take a dump. How are you going to get rid of it? Same for buckets of piss? Think about it, have a good plan that keeps you from getting sick.

Staying warm; a tent in your living room will help you stay warm if its cold. Really you don’t need to heat the whole house. Just the one room you are camping in.

All those cool survival ideas you have saved on your laptop? Yea…. have hard copies of the info you think you’ll need. I think is likely to be more true for city folk. I have an office/ library of sorts but I reckon apartment living doesn’t provide the free space.

Know your city and the likely threats. Earthquakes? Hurricanes? Riots? How long does it take the powers that be to get the lights turned back on? Is your mayor like that bitch in Baltimore who told the cops to give looters their space? All good intell to have. You cannot do much about any of that but it will let you plan accordingly

Lack of storage space, people and traffic… really does seem like those are the defining differences

Well folks that should do it for now.

138 thoughts on “Ton on Urban Prepping

    1. SFC Ton Post author

      Hope you …. well two things
      Never need any of this
      It helps focus folks’ thinking into the more important survival topics. Important for their situation

      Reply
      1. Cautiously Pessimistic

        The really basic thing in this that caught me by surprise was, “Oh yeah… where is all that crap going to go?” Food, water, transport, and security, I’ve at least considered. Where the post-food goes if the water’s off is something I hadn’t.

      2. BGSteve

        Hope you …. well two things. Never need any of this

        The other year for x-mass I gave everyone coast guard approved survival rations and space blankets to put in their car, amongst other things. Before they opened it I told them that the presents taste is poor and they will not be happy when they finally take things out of their packages.

  1. redpillgirlnotes

    I recently ordered a few books on this topic and you basically condensed on of those books down into this post! All good info.

    One book I got focuses so key on home security, that one I am having a hard time reading as I know in my current situation that would be up to me and as a woman, what a terrifying thought. When shtf, women see very quickly why we need men.

    I have some stuff but really need to focus on getting it all together bit by bit. Once shtf, getting this stuff will be darn near impossible. Which means black market, which means having something of value to barter w if money becomes meaningless.

    Reply
      1. redpillgirlnotes

        Another thing the home security/defense book covers is rules for the new community, that might be another topic -who is in and out and what are the ground rules for reestablishing law and order?

      2. theshadowedknight

        For Bloom and her girls? Short term, good neighbors and a better set of doors and windows. Long term, arranged marriages for your daughters to get a couple of boys or men looking after you all. Shotgun in either case.

        Three women on their own says rape to me, then theft, and then possibly slavery. You would be too soft a target to be a threat, too tempting to leave be.

        The Shadowed Knight

      3. SFC Ton Post author

        A man with a gun and a bad attitude who doesn’t want anyone else banging his bitch is some of the best protection a woman can have

      4. redpillgirlnotes

        Ton and shadow knight, very true. My ex for example, that was indeed the case. Nobody was gonna get me or his daughter. Nobody. Men are like that about what is “theirs.” I am not sure he wouldn’t show up here w his new wife plus her kids, protect us all! He’s a nutty Viking like that. Too bad I didn’t get all this back then. I will help my daughters know better.

      5. redpillgirlnotes

        Also I do have good neighbors, and know them all by name and have a beer w them and shoot the breeze on occasion. Right next door in fact I have some hillbilly folk who may not always follow the law but they have always been good to me and I have always been good to them. They have endless useful stuff piled up over at their place, and they don’t just study off the grid living, at points they have done it for years at a time. No shortage of firepower there and I have an open invite from the patriarch grandpa to come borrow some if ever needed. I am also in tight w my farmer neighbors, and the owner of the little country store. Ammo for sale there, handy! But yeah, some plywood precut to the size of my windows stored up and ready to roll along w some door braces ready to toss up quick would add peace of mind, too.

      6. BGSteve

        The viral chimp out videos from when the food stamp system went down for 8 hours on 10-12-2013, are enough to get even puffs to think about fleeing die verse city.

      7. SFC Ton Post author

        has it been? I think the cities are growing and rural/ small time living is shrinking but frankly haven’t researched that

        I know we get the occasional family who is making the move out to small town Southern living but they don’t stick (unless its an older couple)

  2. theshadowedknight

    Another important bit is to figure out what the climate will be without man altering it. I live in Arizona, and Phoenix is a deathtrap in any long term scenario, even more so than regular cities. Same goes for all of Southern California and Nevada, New Mexico, etc. The Southwest is naturally a desert. Only a massive amount of work transforms it into farmland. Once the power goes out and the water stops flowing, everyone dies.

    Figure out what manmade enhancements to your locale are going to disappear. They might surprise you. The levees in New Orleans, for example, are not going to last long, and then they will flood the city for good. Do not be underwater, or without it, without knowing what to expect.

    The Shadowed Knight

    Reply
      1. theshadowedknight

        What happens to the Hoover Dam when no one keeps maintaining it? Do you have nuclear power plants nearby? What else do people do?

        When they reintroduced wolves to Yellowstone, the impact had such a long reach that rivers changed course. That was one predator, and it had an effect not just on other predators and prey, but the geography and ecology of the area, as well. What happens when people change? Interesting questions.

        The Shadowed Knight

      2. redpillgirlnotes

        After hiding in the closet and sucking my thumb, I put on the big girl pants and went and spent $25 on prep stuff. Basic hygiene and health was where I started. May as well do what I know first. Basic first aid kit now compiled as well as basic sanitation/hygiene. Each time I can, I will add $25 more. I am more prepared now than this morning, a thousand step journey begins with a single step, etc, oooommmm, blah blah girl talking… 😉 peace!

      3. redpillgirlnotes

        Also I know this intuitively but many don’t seem to, the more value you bring to the tribe, the more secure you are (as a woman anyway, can’t say how that works for guys.) bringing a basic first aid kit to the potlatch is not a bad thing to bring. To start…

      4. redpillgirlnotes

        Ooooh, really now? I must put right out there the endless trouble I can be. And then there’s the no sense. Or the fact that I can (sorta) run a business but not at all a sewing machine. Don’t forget solipsism, and how AWALT. Isn’t you life complicated enough? 😉 However I mean well, try hard, and get it about two days too late. If that’s anything! Ak. Shhhhh…. (Be quiet woman! Lol) Plus, I have a taker who’s about to kidnap me so there’s that, too.

      5. theshadowedknight

        Bloom, if you are looking to make yourself valuable, violence is golden. By that mean buy ammo, too. Common calibers: .22, 9mm, .45, .223, .308, 12ga, etc. You may not be great with them, but the ones protecting you may be.

        Ammo also makes great barter goods when money is worthless. Cigarettes, single serving liquors, tampons, asprin, batteries, and whatever else you can think of.

        The Shadowed Knight

      6. redpillgirlnotes

        True that shadow knight, I will make it a priority. Where I live there is more firepower and American flags on 4 wheeler trucks than you can shake a stick at, I have a feeling the market is high in supply if I just ask the right folk. Not cheap add ons, but cheaper now than later, much! For sure. Ok back to sucking my thumb and rocking…

      7. redpillgirlnotes

        Where I live (rural not metro but blue states) is very European heritage, lots of “crazy white folk” types. Norwegians, swedes, English, scots, Germans, Irish, Finns, French – many pioneer stock kin. Largest immigrant group is Russian. It might be a s#it show, but probably not so much as some places. Lots of patriots where I live. And luckily I know most round these parts on a beer sharing, s#it shooting level. I am pretty friendly irl too. 🙂

      8. redpillgirlnotes

        Somehow I can see you, civilization falling down around your ears and you cracking jokes while gettin er done. Hopefully it never comes to that, but if it did I have no doubt an empire you would seize. Camp Ton! 😀

      9. SFC Ton Post author

        lol this one time at band camp we were taking cover in this creek while jaun shot up the treeline to no real effect. Any who… our lt told us not to drink the water we might get lead poison or something

        I told him better from the water than the air

        Same lt asked me to put the long whip antenna. I asked himy if he wanted me to stand up and wave at the enemy too….

        Long story short, we are who we are even when the heat is on

        And Ton loves a good fire fight. Makes me feel happy and alive

      10. theshadowedknight

        Now. Sooner, rather than later. If we can kick it off now, then it will still be advantage to whites. The cities contain most of the ethnics that we need to wipe out. The longer this goes on, the more diversity is going to escape from the city.

        The Shadowed Knight

      11. redpillgirlnotes

        Ton don’t take this personal but you know what? Every day this does not fall apart I will cling as one more day to prepare. If it never happens I will be glad. I wish for an awakening, not a collapse. As Pollyanna as that may be somebody got to put that out to the universe, may as well be me! Cheers! Fu(k it!!!!

      12. SFC Ton Post author

        .things will be as they will.be, how they play out is beyond my control and not a fight I have any dogs in

        My dogs & my fight is securing the next three generations of Ton’s

      13. redpillgirlnotes

        Shadow night, how attached are you to your current location? Maybe you should come help a gal out. Platonic, I seem to remember you are too young for me, for now too old for my daughters. But whatever. You are ton approved as far as I see… Bring it! See you soon 🙂

      14. redpillgirlnotes

        Ok I have a plan, I will operate a brothel! As the madam of course I will not be for hire and my daughters won’t either, of course, but I am sure I can recruit gals who would be willing and the place will always be filled with men! By golly it’s golden! 😀

      15. redpillgirlnotes

        I agree Ton, let’s not kick it off. You and I both think the same on those next three generations. I think that’s best accomplished peacefully.

        Ton for president! (Think of the interns, lol)

      16. theshadowedknight

        No, Bloom, I am not attached to my current location. I am here for school. If that does not come through, I will be moving next spring. Probably to Montana or Idaho, so I can get back to the North.

        The Shadowed Knight

      17. redpillgirlnotes

        Tsk I do miss AZ at times but mostly remember it was just too darn hot, the sun too intense. Not to mention that whole people love to live where the sun shines, the desert just isn’t meant to support that level of population so the whole thing is rather inherently unstable. NV, CA, AZ… Nice to visit, none good places to be natural resource wise when shtf IMHO. Montana is beautiful but harsh in winter and remote, lots of wide open space and it took two days to get across on a bike, I kept thinking montaaaaaana! Didn’t help that it was August and 118 degrees, I was darn near hallucinating at points. Idaho is also pretty, and again can be very remote and pastoral depending on the area. Couer de lane (sp?) looked really pretty when I passed it by. The Palouse is also pastoral and picturesque. I get the idea you might not mind the solitary/self sufficient vibe both places have going for them, both sound like good targets for a shadow knight! What are you studying in school?

      18. theshadowedknight

        Not studying anything just yet. I plan to study chemical engineering. Once I finish dealing with the VA, I will start applying, but ASU is being difficult.

        I am with you on the heat. This summer has been brutal. Humid all summer, in the high hundred teens. I cannot stand the heat. I want to go live where it gets cold, and see snow again.

        The Shadowed Knight

      19. redpillgirlnotes

        Tsk I wish you luck w your plans and that it all comes together as you envision. Thanks for your service, I respect you and Ton both highly for that. If you are not liking the heat and not set on AZ, I am wondering if there may be schools in the north/northwest where you could study if the asu thing doesn’t pan out? I don’t know much about that field or what schools are best for it but I am sure you have considered all that and choose asu for a reason. What age are you again? Mid 20s? I seem to recall you being quite young, compared to Ton and myself who are the same age. Ah to be young again… The world is your oyster, seize it! 🙂

    1. redpillgirlnotes

      Luckily where I live has abundant water and yet little snow/super harsh weather. Lots of forage potential. I grew up in southern AZ and yeah the “river” was a trickle and practically dry much of the year. The mountains near show low may be a place to head for you? Is there water there?

      Reply
      1. BGSteve

        For your SFTH supplies you might want to consider getting under the bra gun holsters, and something for the time of the month like the Naturally Cozy reusable washable feminine pads, or moon cups for all the females in the group that might need them. One thing that stands out are the UVPAQLITE permanent night lights, I would only recommend getting the 8 man tent version though. https://www.uvpaqlite.com/the-uv-paqlite-1.html

  3. theshadowedknight

    If ASU does not cooperate, I am leaving town when my lease is up. I moved to AZ so I could live with my mother while I went to school. I am not living with my mother anymore, and if school does not happen, either, then I am heading to a better climate. I want cold, damn it!

    I am 26. Joined at 19, out at 24, and a year and a half a free man.

    The Shadowed Knight

    Reply
  4. Sumo

    All this talk of prepping, and not one mention of fire-starting capabilities. Tsk tsk, lads. If your power goes, you’re going to need a way to produce light, heat, and a way to cook yer chow. I have at least half a dozen cheapo Bic lighters on hand, as well as a couple of Zippos, some waterproof matches, a few flints, and 2 magnesium fire starters. I learned how to make a fire bow when I was in the Boy Scouts, but I haven’t done it in more than 20 years. Still, I could probably muddle through it if I needed to. Fire is a fairly significant concern up here in the Great Frozen Wasteland, so I don’t take chances with that shit.

    On an unrelated note, despite how fond I am of you guys, if this “eliminate the ethnics” plan ever becomes reality, I’m afraid that we’re going to find ourselves on opposite sides. If that ever happens, you have my word of honor that I will take you out as quickly and painlessly as possible. ‘Tis the least I can do for my friends. 😉

    Reply
    1. theshadowedknight

      Sumo, the ethnics we are concerned about are Negros and Latinos. You Orientals are not a threat. Our separation will be more relaxed. Segregation and not extermination.

      The Shadowed Knight

      Reply
    2. BGSteve

      If I was stuck in a big dieversecity when bad things happened and couldn’t get out, I would head to the Asian part of town, because every Asian I know is honest about how bad non Asian minorities are. I will even pull shifts with the roof Asian, groid shooting squad. Blacks consider Asians to be white because Asians succeed just like whites. In San Fran the Queens cried out clutching their pearls when the San Francisco Gate published the demographics of crime against gays and Asians.

      Reply
      1. SFC Ton Post author

        Yea but they tend to be clannish and unwilling to help outsiders. I have not seen any willingness from Asians to cooperate with Whites in general ( unless its a lone Asian family in a White AO)

        I’m not saying you are wrong but ti doesn’t match up with what I know from living with them, (Korea, Hawaii) and dealing with them in Japan.

      1. Liz

        South Koreans and Chinese eat dog too, Sumo!
        I think you can pretty much put any meat into bulgogi (maybe not officially, but they do). I’m about as sure as can be I’ve eaten bulgogi cat.
        (not kobe of course…but bulgogi and kobe sound good together) 😛

      2. SFC Ton Post author

        When I was in korea you’d run across the occasional butcher shop with dogs hanging up

        And it’s possible I got.drunk and liberated a dog farm.

      3. Liz

        A friend of mine’s father was a diplomatic attaché in China in the late 80s. He was at a restaurant and they presented him with a basket of puppies. He needed to choose which welping puppy in the basket he wanted to eat. Of course he did…he had to or it would have been a social faux pas.

      4. Liz

        “And it’s possible I got.drunk and liberated a dog farm.”

        Yeah! Go Ton. 🙂
        I’ve never seen a butcher shop with the dogs hanging. Eek. A dog truck used to come by our apartment though…blaring loudly in the early AM, asking for old dogs people didn’t want. People were really mean to dogs over there.

  5. redpillgirlnotes

    Lol Liz! However it does not sound like those little dogs will feed a family of your size for long. Perhaps time to take up breeding Great Danes? :/

    I don’t want stuff to collapse. But if it did, Sumo wouldn’t you rather be a kitchen pimp at a brothel? 🙂

    Reply
    1. Liz

      Yeah they’re pretty scrawny. 🙂
      I don’t want stuff to collapse either, Bloom. It’s surprising how many people are prepping for this stuff though. Mike says just about everyone at work is stocked up and has a survival plan (of course, most of them live in Miami and Ft Lauderdale and if things go bad that’s a bad place to be). He only recently started talking about this stuff with other people since he’s going through a ‘gun phase’ again.

      Reply
      1. Liz

        One guy at work even has an axe in the attic and the plan is for him and his kids to run up there and chop their way out if crap hits the fan. I guess in New Orleans some people died because they couldn’t get out of the attic when they tried to escape the water. He has some sort of razor wire that’s all set to throw down the stairs too. And of course, lots of guns.

    1. theshadowedknight

      Another problem with regards to running a brothel after the Happening is that the customers are liable to be the meaner, ornerier type to survive in the first place. You need guards for the place that are even meaner and ornerier to keep order. They may end up running the place, with you as the face. At that point, you are just another employee, albeit working vertically rather than horizontally, vertically, angled, bent, etc. Hey-o!

      The Shadowed Knight

      Reply
      1. redpillgirlnotes

        Tsk I do get that, the brothel thing is a joke. I have a sick dry sense of humor… Do not take what I say too serious k? God knows I am horribly niave but I still believe this s#it will work out somehow… :/

      2. redpillgirlnotes

        Tsk the other thing about warriors I appreciate but don’t understand, what do they do the other 98% of the time? Do you like farm chores? People? Selling stuff? What else does tsk bring? Lots I am sure but you tell me…

      3. SFC Ton Post author

        Chase thrills. That’s what I do when I find myself between fire fights but it depends on the man. I’m the adrenaline junkie variety.

      4. Sumo

        Tsk the other thing about warriors I appreciate but don’t understand, what do they do the other 98% of the time?

        Train for the 2% of the time when they need to handle shit.

      5. redpillgirlnotes

        And tsk I do not whatsoever mean that as an insult, I hope that is obvious. Being a warrior is more than enough. Way more than enough. I am a girl and all… Take me w a humorous mastery k? If you never do more than you have ever done, you have done more already than most ever will. Thank you! (And all warriors)

      6. theshadowedknight

        I paint miniature models, play war games and video games, and make fermented foods. More besides that, but those are what I do most often.

        The Shadowed Knight

    2. Liz

      “Train for the 2% of the time when they need to handle shit.”
      Speaking of which…
      Are you packing heat yet, bloom? (a gun I mean) 🙂
      If so, I’ve read that people generally fall to their lowest mean average performance when they’re in a crisis situation so it’s important to get very proficient at the range.

      Also, according to the books Mike has read, us rookies should aim for the pelvis, not the heart or head. If we aim for the head we’ll probably miss, and a person who is high can go on for a few minutes even when shot through the chest, and they have been known to kill people before dying. But if you target the pelvis it is anatomically impossible for them to continue toward you.

      Reply
      1. Liz

        “That pelvis thing is stupid”
        Really? I’d always thought to aim for center of mass too, but the book said different.
        I won’t argue, you obviously know more about it than I do.

      2. SFC Ton Post author

        It’s about gross and fine motor skillz when the heat is one. I sort of get their point but if you are unskilled enough shutting down the cns is not a viable option center mass it is

        Folks need to sell books I reckon but I don’t have a high opinion of most firearm advice givers

      3. SFC Ton Post author

        Yep largest part of the target so the lower chest/ upper belly. They way if your aim is a little off you’ll hit something(greatest odds) and cause a lot of blood loss. Which is what puts folks or deer etc down unless you are good enough to shut down the central nervous system. Which requires a fuck ton of practice to do when under pressure and if you are that well trained don’t need my advice.

        Until the gun goes click means expend all ammo. Like over 90% of encounters are one on one and folks bleed out faster with 11 holes in them vs 1 or 2. I have 11 round of 9mm in my pocket pistol. I will use all 11 rounds.

        That’s the down and dirty tried and true method for rookies

      4. redpillgirlnotes

        You guys don’t mess around, but then again you are also absolutely dead right. I will gear up and get to practicing. The few times I have fired a gun I was a pretty good shot actually. And people have said to me before, they don’t think I could (I am pretty meek and mild) but trust me if it was them or my kids/me, blammo. No hesitation or regret whatsoever. Like I said before, you gotta watch out for the quiet ones!

        I got a book specifically on a prep pets guide to home defense and it’s really hard for me to read without having to go hide in the closet and suck my thumb again. But better safe than sorry. Bit by bit…

      5. theshadowedknight

        Use 9mm jacketed hollowpoints in a Glock and that is ~15 really big holes. You can get the extended magazines for home defense with 33 rounds. If that does not take care of the problem, you were probably fucked to begin with.

        You may also look into a shotgun, but make sure you can handle the recoil. A couple of rounds of buckshot ought to stop most, but as always; shoot, pump, shoot, pump, until he stops moving. If you do not have to worry about the law, shoot him in the head once he is down to make sure. He could be faking.

        The Shadowed Knight

      6. redpillgirlnotes

        I think me being a girl may be in my favor in the case of giving an intruder the blammo. And if it saved my kids lives? I’d gladly be in time out for life than live w knowing I didn’t do enough. That’s how momma bears roll (or should!)

      7. theshadowedknight

        I know, Ton. I meant if you are living without the rule of law, then dead check him. Before it happens, call the police if you shot him and just keep a close eye on him. They will be around to do the rest.

        Ton is right about that being a stupid idea. You need to be around to care for your girls afterwards, and you cannot do that behind bars. If he is faking, let the cops deal with him.

        The Shadowed Knight

      8. SFC Ton Post author

        Unless it’s some hollywood movie rule of law will be established, rumors will be investigated, prosecutors will prosecute etc etc

        The usa will continue to slide into 3rd world status as we fill up with third world “people”. That isn’t mad max or the walking dead or where ever else folks get their ideas

      9. redpillgirlnotes

        I see. Yes that true. Ok I’ll pipe down. Noted. Sammiches? 🙂

        And actually pretty soon, God willing, these won’t be my worries anymore as it looks like I am going to get remarried. Thank goodness! Until then I have to trust God protects me. And so far so good. Helps to live next door to hillbillies who are quite fond of me. Others watch my place pretty careful too. Like I said, I am friendly and people look out for me bc of that. Plus I can make booze. That always helps 🙂

      10. Liz

        It’s important to be familiar with the firearm laws in your state too Bloom. There are places where firing a warning shot could be a felony offense.

      11. redpillgirlnotes

        True, it’s more likely m@rtial law would come before @narchy. I hope it never comes to either myself.

        And good point Liz, I would need to learn the laws too. Where I live these things are still rather fluid. A neighbor for example discharged a shotgun in his home when he found teens partying in his granddaughters bedroom. He said he thought they were intruders. No charges were filed. :/

      12. Liz

        “And good point Liz, I would need to learn the laws too. Where I live these things are still rather fluid. A neighbor for example discharged a shotgun in his home when he found teens partying in his granddaughters bedroom. He said he thought they were intruders. No charges were filed”

        The laws are often quite contradictory and downright Kafkaeque, Bloom. There are situations in our neck of the woods where one could actually shoot and kill a person but not discharge a firearm for warning purposes. I’ve learned this from a JAG at the base here with a lot of real life horror stories. They say patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel, but they are wrong. It’s PC politics and the “moral busybodies” who believe they are doing good who are the scoundrels. CS Lewis had it exactly right.

      13. SFC Ton Post author

        I amiss unaware of any state that requires a warning shot, usually that’s called reckless discharge of a fire arm

        Your life is threatened and deadly force is required or it is not. It’s how they define the threatened part that gets dicey but even then it comes down to would a reasonable person act the same in the same situation. Some states make you exhaust all other options, if possible. NC is a no retreat state with that right extending to any place you have the legal right to be. Also the burden is on the state to prove you made the wrong decision. We had a teenage boy kill an urban youth through a door with a 12ga. No charges filed

        Last person I would ask advice for on the topic would be a random lawyer.

      14. Liz

        If you are unfamiliar with CS Lewis:
        “Of all tyrannies, a tyranny sincerely exercised for the good of its victims may be the most oppressive. It would be better to live under robber barons than under omnipotent moral busybodies. The robber baron’s cruelty may sometimes sleep, his cupidity may at some point be satiated; but those who torment us for our own good will torment us without end for they do so with the approval of their own conscience.”

      15. Liz

        Just to add, I’ve had actual debates with liberals who sincerely believe that a person who owns a gun should be criminally liable in the event that gun is stolen from their secured home and subsequently used in a crime. It’s all for the great good you see.

      16. theshadowedknight

        Fuck the liberals. They need to be held liable for when somebody takes their ideas and uses them to kill people. Put them in camps, and no guns but the guards.

        They would be in heaven, until they get sent to hell.

        The Shadowed Knight

      17. Liz

        “Fuck the liberals.”
        Agreed.
        Ton is probably thinking, “What the fuck is the point in debating a liberal?”
        But they vote. And pretty much run our legal system. It’s a strange thing, trying to understand where they are coming from…just out of morbid curiosity, if nothing else.

      18. redpillgirlnotes

        Agreed re the moral busy bodies. What’s that saying, my rights don’t end where your beliefs begin… I think that’s it anyway! Where I see the impact of this is in over regulation. You’d think it is a crime to run a small biz anymore, if you are not loaded and able to grease the skids, that is. If that’s how things work, this ain’t gonna work. Don’t get me started… Pfffft.

    3. Liz

      You won’t need to run a brothel, Bloom. You’ll have your apiary. 🙂
      Honey is high in energy concentration, and anti-bacterial (for wound care). Of course, you’ll need men to guard that too…

      Reply
      1. redpillgirlnotes

        Indeed Liz, I am totally just kidding about the brothel. I do need to get some heat and practice using it. long overdue. My recently frivorced friend is hooking me up in this regard, knows where to get set up cheap. Will do ASAP.

        Re adreneliine junkies, the military base where I worked in college had a small special forces unit and it’s true, those guys were always up to some hijinks. The commander was always in fits but you don’t get guys willing to do that job who will then sit home knitting.

Leave a Reply

