This Vet is not a fan of Veterans Day

I am not a fan of Veterans Day, its a cop-out. To be fair I am not a fan of any holiday that is supposed to honor an unspecified person, people or event. They are all cop-outs. The only two holidays I do much for are Robert E Lee day and Easter.

I know most people are sincere in their desire to honor Veterans but for the most part it a day to sucker money out of people. 10% off on this, buy one meal get one free meal here, 2 grand off this car there…. all of it an attempt to sucker money out of people, in this case Veterans. My bar has Veterans Day 10% off everyday, so maybe I am the worse offender of all?

Most Vets do just fine in the outside world. That statistics showing otherwise don’t differentiate between Vets with honorable discharges ( the vast majority) and Vets who were kicked out (generally for various mental defects). Helping homeless vets is normally helping a shitbird, but no one will say that because their is money to made in the charity bidness and few people want to look bad

We all know about the various groups which help Veterans, Wound Warrior, Disabled American Vets, Veterans of Foreign Wars…. the list is long and most do good work, though I am actively engaged with groups which focuses on helping the surviving children of fallen Rangers. Why? Rangers get the least amount of press going and therefore the least amount of public support. If we don’t tend to our own, no one else will. I am all about my brothers, hell I even tolerate SEAL’s like you would your retard second cousin from your mothers nephews brothers side, but my heart and soul belongs to the Rangers. All I have achieved is based on the professionalism and work ethic installed in my 1st 6 years of service. I would not be me without the the Regiment fundamental lessons and testings of my integrity, tactical and technical competency.

In theory, the most important thing people can do for Vets is vote, but voting does fuck all. In practical terms raising hell is more effective. Raise hell about how fucked up the VA is; raise hell about the social experiments and political correctness negatively impacting combat effectiveness and elevating the risks our fighting men face(women in the military, queers in the military, the race baiting bullshit, the time wasted doing various SJW training vs training to kill and survive); raise hell about rules of engagement which put combat troops at risk( at one point in the A-stan, we couldn’t shoot a guy placing an IED but we could tool up a local beating his wife)……

You want to help Vets? Raise hell

22 thoughts on “This Vet is not a fan of Veterans Day

  1. theasdgamer

    I hear you. It’s appropriate to honor veterans for honorable service, but when veterans are being used for dishonorable purposes, then it’s no longer appropriate. Maybe we should have a Red Pill Day to honor PUAs for starting the ball rolling in the Manosphere.

    Reply
    1. SFC Ton Post author

      The comments are funny as hell; 1st one up was some beta saying he shouldn’t be with someone if he was thinking about hi car

      car repairs are expensive so yea its a big deal.

      my favorite photo along those lines is Super Man and wonder woman and she is wondering if she can do better

      Reply
  2. cecilhenry100

    Remembrance Day in Canada is increasingly becoming not an excuse to actually respect the past and the sacrifices, BUT to celebrate those sacrifices as clearing the way for … for what really??

    For ‘Diversity’ and White Genocide. Its disgusting.

    The CBC in Canada was more enarmoured with an Afghan refugee becoming a Minister in the Canadian cabinet than in respecting the racial and cultural interests and past of the Canadians that Made the nation.

    Nobody there to challenge them, nobody there to disagree.

    Reply
  3. theshadowedknight

    Ah, the VA. Got to love them.

    Veterans Day is awkward when everyone tries to thank you for your service. No one really knows what they are talking about. My service was nothing to speak of, so no point making something of it.

    The Shadowed Knight

    Reply
    1. SFC Ton Post author

      LOL I hear you. I did good, but so did hundreds of men. When I was shot and moved back to being a basic grunt, my old crew did just fine without me.

      Reply
  4. Artisanal Toad

    Yo Ton, Fuck you.

    This jarhead doesn’t have anything to apologize about. You’ve seen my DD214 and you know I’m real. I don’t know who jerked your chain, but fuck them. But if you go by how things play out these days… fuck you. You need to remember who your allies are and fuck the rest of them.

    Reply
      1. redpillgirlnotes

        I thought this post was interesting. So few people really know what life is like in the military. Including me. I am torn bc while I would likely throw myself on a grenade bc I believe so strongly in all my country symbolizes, well it seems to be about all that less and less.

      2. Artisanal Toad

        Got no clue. Buddy of mine came by with some cherry jubilee and I truly have no memory of what happened afterward. Not even sure how I was able to type anything. Hell, how did I find my computer? Last memory was his wife piling pillows around me so I stayed on my side. I guess this is what I get for not drinking and then falling off the wagon.

      3. Artisanal Toad

        Brings new meaning to the word hurt.

        Jimmy is an artist when it comes to cooking shine. Seriously. I welded up a new still for him a few months ago with a reflux column, solid copper on everything. He finally got everything figured out and stopped by with his wife (DD) to have me sample the result. Zero fusil oils, smooth as a baby’s butt, nice bead, I’m guessing about 120 proof. And I hadn’t had anything to drink in months. But we’re talking smooth like you can’t believe. It was like being in the Philippines. I didn’t know I was drunk until I tried to stand up and fell down.

  5. Liz

    My Dad used to say and think the same about Veteran’s day (and veterans with fabricated conditions/ailments), Ton.

    But I don’t. I’ve mentioned before that I haven’t earned the right to question them. They’re on the short list of groups of people I respect and admire (as a group).

    Reply
    1. SFC Ton Post author

      LOL most vets did nothing but sit at a desk or some shit yet in the physical world I don’t deal with many non Vets. My bidness partners, they guy I flip bikes with, the guys I hunt and fish with etc etc all Vets

      Reply
    2. Liz

      I still remember back before Mike went to pilot training he used to collect squadron patches, and he mentioned this at my parents house. Dad stood up and said, “Hey, you want some patches? I’ve got some…” and he went into the closet and took out this big nice award thing, designed to hang on the wall, one of his old squadrons had given him and he took the glass off and ripped out the patches and handed them to him. LOL!
      He didn’t have a lot of sentimental value to his old military stuff. No “I love me” style walls in the house. Mike’s the same (now…but it startled him very much at the time).

      Reply
      1. SFC Ton Post author

        LOL I have almost no military stuff on my walls, and what I do have are gifts my crew or subordinates put together for me. For the most part.

        Its the unofficial stuff given out of genuine affection that counts to me. One platoon put the money together to give me a tuned up Springfield 911.

        Very humbling

      2. Liz

        “Its the unofficial stuff given out of genuine affection that counts to me.”
        I agree. So true.

        ” One platoon put the money together to give me a tuned up Springfield 911.”
        That’s awesome, Ton! 🙂

Leave a Reply

